McMaster men 15 strokes back in University College Golf Championship

Thornhill, Ont. – McMaster University’s men’s team finds itself 15 strokes back of leading Humber Institute of Technology heading into the second round of the Canadian University College Golf Championship.

Mac’s team carded a 305 total on the Thornhill Country Club’s par 71, 6.562 course to trail Humber’s 290. The University of Victoria, defending champion, is second with 292.

Topping the women’s divisions is the University of British Columbia with a 319 total and a comfortable lead over second place University of Calgary at 347. The women are playing on a par-71, 5,892 layout.

Humber was led by Michael Zizek who carded an early 71 which puts him in tie for third place in the individual competition. Zizek and the Humber Hawks are looking to capture their first title since 2003.

Vikes’ Todd Halpen of Victoria fired a 69 to take the opening round lead in the individual competition while Greg Kennette of Belle River, Ont. is second with a 70.

Victoria has been champions two out three years and this year all but rookie Ross MacPherson of Victoria will graduate.

In the women’s competition, the three-time defending champion University of British Columbia placed all five members of its team in the top 10 individual standings, all shooting under 85.

A total of 153 male and female golfers from post-secondary institutes from across Canada are competing at the Thornhill course. Team and individual honours are up for grabs as well as the opportunity to represent Canada at this year’s World University Games in Torino, Italy, September 5 – 9.

The team championship will involve five-player teams competing over 72 holes with the top four individual scores counting towards the team total. After 54 holes, the field will be cut to the low 10 male and low five female teams. Any team within 15 shots of the lead will also make the cut. Individual champions will also be crowned after 72 holes.

The tournament is conducted by the Royal Canadian Golf Association. As part of the RCGA’s Pathway to Champions both the male and female achieving the low score after four rounds of play will earn an exemption into the 2006 Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship and the 2006 Royale Cup Women’s Amateur Championship respectively.

The tournament concludes June 2. First round scores and standings:

1. Humber Institute of Technology 290
2. University of Victoria 292
3. University of Toronto 295
T4. University of British Columbia 300
T4. University of Western Ontario 300
6. University of Manitoba 301
7. McMaster University 305
8. University of Waterloo 306
9. Université de Montréal 307
T10. Queens University 313
T10. University of Ottawa 313
12. University of Calgary 314
13. Université Laval 315
T14. Durham College 319
T14. McGill University 319
16. Niagara College 320
17. Mount Royal College 321
18. Holland College 324
19. University of Lethbridge 326
20. Université du Quebec à Trois-Rivières 331
21. University of Alberta 336

Women’s Team Results

1. University of British Columbia 319
2. University of Calgary 347
3. University of Western Ontario 350
4. University of Toronto 353
5. University of Manitoba 356
6. University of Victoria 357
7. Mount Royal College 372
8. University of Alberta 375
9. Université Laval 432
10 Humber Institute of Technology 444

Men’s Individual Competition

1 Todd Halpen, Victoria, BC — 69
2 Greg Kennette, Belle River, ON — 70
T3 Michael Zizek, Mississauga, — 71
Brad Kirton, Winnipeg, MB — 71
T5 David Albert, Toronto, — 72
Micheal Glenney, Toronto, — 72
Lee French London, ON — 72
Saare Adams, Victoria, BC– 72
T9 Adam McCauley, Oakville, 73
Cory Renfrew, Victoria, BC — 73
Greg Lamb, Tillsonburg, ON — 73
Cameron Gall, Toronto, ON — 73
Jason Wellings, West Flamborough, ON — 73

Women’s Individual Competition (Top Ten)

1 Jana Haggins, Calgary, — 77
2 Kyla Inaba, Kelowna, BC — 78
3 Danielle Greene, Toronto, — 80
T4 Gabrielle Dugré, La Sarre QC — 81
– Ashley McDonald, Calgary, — 81
– Morgan Lederhouse, Calgary, — 81
7 Karla Gustafson, Calgary, — 82
T8 Kim Valleau, Nipawin, SK — 83
– Erica Bennett, Dieppe, NB — 83
T10 Marianne Banton, Woodinville, WA — 84
– Denielle Neufeld, Lethbridge, AB — 84