St. Catharines welcomes 91st Ontario Women’s Amateur championship

A field of 128 players will compete for the Jean Haslett trophy, emblematic of supremacy in women’s amateur golf in Ontario. From July 5-7, the St. Catharines Golf & Country Club will be host to the province’s premier women’s amateur golf title. The golf course last had the event in 1968 when Marlene Streit captured the championship.

Lindsay Knowlton, 24, of Toronto, returns to defend her title and pursue back-to-back Amateur Championships. A repeat would be the first since 1997 when Mary Ann Lapointe took three in row. Other notables in this year’s field include: 2005 Canadian Amateur Champion Laura Matthews of Stillwater, OK, 2005 USGA Mid-Amateur Champion Mary Ann Lapointe of Georgetown, two time champion Terrill Samuel of Etobicoke and Streit of Unionville, winner of a record 11 Ontario Women’s Amateur titles.

There is no shortage of local hopefuls in the Investor’s Group sponsored tournament, including: Cindy Au-Yeung of St. Catharines, Sandra Billyard of Ridgeville, Shannon Briggs of Fonthill, Chris Critelli of St. Catharines, Andrianna DiLonardo of Niagara Falls, Kelly Fonagy of Niagara Falls, Carolyn Halinda of Fonthill and Mary Kraus Crystal Beach, Cindy Antico of Burlington, Jayne Chalmers of Mount Hope, Justice Durland of Oakville, Sarah Grigor of Oakville, Laura Hildebrandt of Ancaster, Brenda Kersey of Burford, Jennifer Kirby of St. George, Jennifer Kuntz of Burlington, Jennifer Lochhead of Burlington, Margaret Lockhart of Dundas, Joanna Periversoff of Hamilton, Pamela Piotrowski of Milton, Linda Samuel of Oakville, Denise Schaefer of Cambridge, Ashley Sholer of Hamilton, Glenna Sibick of Burford, Margaret Trainor of Dundas, Ali Wright of Oakville, and Rosemary Wysocki of Georgetown.

Admission to the event is free to the general public. Gates at St. Catharines G&CC will be open for all three rounds of the Championship starting Wednesday, July 5 and running through Friday July 7. This is a great chance for people to come see the course and stay for some truly exceptional golf.

Past winners of the Investors Group Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship include 1968 LPGA Championship winner Sandra Post (1964), LPGA Rookie Alena Sharp (1989) and Marlene Stewart Streit, who holds the record for the most Ontario Women’s Amateur Championships with 11 (’51, ’56, ’57, ’58, ’68, ’69, ’70, ’72, ’74, ‘76, ‘77).

The Ontario Women’s Amateur Championship is restricted to GAO members only carrying an 12.0 handicap factor of less. After 36-holes, the field of 128 players will be cut to the top 54 players and ties with a champion crowded July 7th.