Burlington’s Larissa Lagzdins is rowing to Belgium

Larissa Lagzdins has been named to Canada’s team for this year’s World Rowing Under 23 Championships.

Also named to the Canadian team and who will row with Lagzdins in the women’s eights is Kerry Maher of Welland. Both have international rowing experience.

Lagzdins, 21, also rows for Brock University. Maher, 22, is a member of the University of Virginia rowing team. The Under-23 championships are scheduled for July 20-23 in Hazewinkel, Belgium.

This year, Canada is sending its largest team ever, 40 rowers in 10 divisions. in the history of the Under 23 program which has been in existence for nearly 30 years. Held for the first time in 1976 in Macon, France, as the Seniors Match it became the Nations Cup in 1992. It became a world championship event under the FISA banner in 2004.
About 40 countries and 600 athletes will compete in this year’s championships.

The Canadian team includes:

Kurtis Boyd – Brockville, Ont.
Simon Gowdy – Montréal, Que.
John Haver – Saskatoon, Sask.
Rob Pratt – Kingston, Ont.

Cameron Sylvester – Caledon, Ont.
Tim Colson – London, Ont.

Liam Brennan – Perth, Ont.
Graham Rusk – Victoria, B.C.

Mark Laidlaw – Mississauga
Daniel Casaca – Toronto.
Chris Aylard – Victoria, B.C.
Will Crothers – Kingston, Ont.
Jan Tize – West Vancouver.
Max Wyatt – Victoria, B.C.
Brendan Robinson – Brentwood Bay, B.C.
Rob Gibson – Kingston, Ont.
Max Lang – Lumby, B.C.

Brent Holmes-Heron – Peterborough, Ont.
Andrew Rastapkevicius – Kingston, Ont.
Michael Wilkinson – North Vancouver
Daniel Matthews – Vancouver
Matthew Swaile – Victoria, B.C.

Elizabeth McCord – Toronto.
Sarah Waterfield – Kingston, Ont.
Evan Wilson – Toronto.
Meghan Thomas – Victoria, B.C.
Larissa Lagzdins – Burlington.
Cara Troelstra – Halifax, N.S.
Kerry Maher – Welland.
Kristina Macdonald – Langley, B.C.
Julia MacDonald – Port Moody, B.C.

Katrina Wechselberger – Vancouver.
Stephanie Connolly – Victoria, B.C.
Stephanie Morrison – Nelson, B.C.
Allison Kryszkiewicz – Victoria, B.C.

Laura Pidgen – Orillia, Ont.
Anne Cowan – London, Ont.

Susan Ross – Kingston, Ont.
Michelle Burnham – Surrey, B.C.

Kara Farquharson – Mississauga