Green advances in Canadian Open Racquetball Classic

Hometown favourite Mike Green has qualified for the Round of 16 at the second Canadian Open Racquetball Classic which began play on Thursday at the Cedar Springs Health and Racquet Club in Burlington. The tournament is a Tier 1 event on the International Racquetball Tour – the men’s professional racquetball tour – and also features the top Canadian women’s players.

Thursday was qualifying day for the main draw of 16. The top eight seeds automatically qualify, and the other eight come from two qualifying rounds. Green, a four-time Canadian champion, defeated Kris Odegard of Saskatoon, 11-6, 5-11, 11-0, 11-4, to advance. Odegard had beaten Simon Rainville of Montreal, 11-7, 11-1, 11-2, in the first qualifying round.

The local-area flavour continues with Burlington’s Ryan Smith, current Canadian Junior Champion in 18 and under, and Ancaster’s Eric Desrochers, a former Canadian Junior Champion, meeting to determine the other Canadian qualifier.

In women’s play, the first round matches brought two upsets as Quebec players took out Saskatchewan players. Claudia Courcy of Sherbrooke, defeated Brandi Jacobson Prentice of Saskatoon, 15-5, 10-15, 11-9. Courcy is ranked 20th in Canada and Jacobson Prentice 11th.

Frederique T. Lambert of Montreal, ranked 19th in Canada defeated Alison Schlichemeyer of Saskatoon, the 12th ranked women’s player nationally, 15-4, 15-11.

In other women’s action, Denise Haynes of Clare, Nova Scotia defeated Lysa-Ann Landreville of Rock Forest, Que., 15-5, 15-5, and Genevieve Brodeur of Sherbrooke, beat Carolyn Peddle of Edmonton, 15-12, 15-3.

Play continues in men’s and women’s divisions through Sunday at the Cedar Springs Health and Racquet Club.


Men’s IRT

Thursday’s Qualifying Round 1
Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon) d. Francis Guillemette (Montreal), 11-5, 6-11, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6.
Kris Odegard (Saskatoon) d. Simon Rainville (Montreal), 11-4, 11-4, 11-7.
Nathaniel Husulak (Saskatoon) d. Michael Burgess (Winnipeg), 11-13, 11-6, 7-11, 11-5, 11-4.
Scott Campbell (Brandon, Man.) d. Barret Husulak (Saskatoon), 11-4, 11-6, 11-2.
Lee Connell (Saskatoon) d. Tripp Isley (USA), 11-6, 11-5, 11-7.
James Landeryou (Saskatoon) d. Mathieu Messier (Montreal), 11-9, 7-11, 11-6, 11-9.
Sam Rutkowski (Rochester, NY) d. Patrick Patenaude (Montreal), 11-7, 11-1, 11-2.

Thursday’s Qualifying Round 2
Chris Crowther (Riverside, Calif.) d. Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon), 11-3, 11-3. 11-6.
Ben Croft (Lake Bluff, Ill.) d. Nathaniel Husulak (Saskatoon), 9-11, 11-7, 11-8, 11-2.
Hiroshi Shimizu (Japan) d. Scott Campbell (Brandon, Man.), 11-5, 11-4, 11-3.
Sudsy Monchik (USA) d. Lee Connell (Saskatoon), 11-9, 7-11, 11-4, 11-3.
Agustin Tristan (Mexico) d. James Landeryou (Saskatoon), 11-2, 11-4, 11-2.
Andy Hawthorne (Akron, Ohio) d. Sam Rutkowski (Rochester, NY), 11-3, 11-7, 11-3.
Mike Green (Burlington, Ont.) d. Kris Odegard (Saskatoon), 11-6, 5-11, 11-0, 11-4.

Friday’s Round of 16
Alvaro Beltran (Mexico) vs. Augstin Tristan (Mexico)
Shane Vanderson (Cleveland) vs. Andy Hawthorne (Akron, Ohio)
Jason Thoerner (Peoria, Ill.) vs. Chris Crowther (Riverside, Calif.)
Jason Mannino (San Diego) vs. Ben Croft (Lake Bluff, Ill.)
Cliff Swain (Boston) vs. Mike Green (Burlington, Ont.)
Rocky Carson (Laguna Niguel, CA) vs. Sudsy Monchik (USA)
Mitch Williams (Pueblo, Col.) vs. Hiroshi Smimizu (Japan)
Jack Huczek (Rochester Hills, MI) vs. Ryan Smith (Burlington) or Eric Desrochers (Ancaster.)

Women’s Round 1
Claudia Courcy (Sherbrooke, Que.) d. Brandi Jacobson Prentice (Saskatoon), 15-5, 10-15, 11-9.
Frederique T. Lambert (Montreal) d. Alison Schlichemeyer (Saskatoon), 15-4, 15-11.
Denise Haynes (Clare, Nova Scotia) d. Lysa-Ann Landreville (Rock Forest, Que.), 15-5, 15-5.
Genevieve Brodeur (Sherbrooke, Que.) d. Carolyn Peddle (Edmonton), 15-12, 15-3.