Mac places five on OUA all-star Water Polo teams

McMaster Marauders placed three players on the Ontario University Athletics all-star women’s water polo teams, two players on the men’s squads, and took a coach of the year honour.

Alicia Lummack (Hamilton) was named to the first-team allstars while teammates Lillian Desouza Burr (Ottawa) and Jen Doto (Hamilton) made the second team.

On the men’s side, Mac’s David Jones (Hamilton) was a first-team selection and Richard Saunders (Hamilton) was a second-team choice. The men’s coach of the year award went to Mac’s Quinn Fairley. Jones’ brother, Eric, a member of the Queen’s Golden Gaels, also made the first team.

Carleton Raven’s made a huge splash in water polo this season. Rachel Baxter and Dejan Suletic led the OUA in scoring. Baxter, had 29 goals, and Suletic, with 43 goals, were both named first team allstars.

Jennifer Hampton joined Baxter as a first team allstar while Kasia Hart, the daughter of former Women’s National team coach Dave Hart, and goaltender Laura Catana were selected to the second team. Queen’s goaltender Erin Bickerton and Susan Armstrong were selected to the first team and were joined by second team selections Holly Tawse and Sarah Kalwarowsky on a team that finished third in the regular season.

York had the daughter of a former national team coach named an allstar as well, when Julie Csikos was selected to the first team. She was joined by teammate Karin Shortreed.

On the men’s side, the Varsity Blues dominated, with five of seven starters making the allstar grade. Vladimir Tasevski led all Blues in scoring with 34 goals and was joined on the first team by Jake Pottier. Jake’s younger brother Max, along with elder statesman Leo Leung and goaltender Andrew Chorniy round out the Blues receiving allstar recognition, on the second team.

Suletic and fellow Raven scoring threat Fedja Avlijas, who scored 34 goals, were able to focus more on their offense thanks to the superb goaltending of Marc-Antoine Tanguay. All three were named to the first team.

York’s Ross MacDonald was the women’s Coach of the Year.