Looking for the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year

The search has begun. Nominations for the 2006 Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year can now be submitted to the committee which administers this prestigious award.

The winner will be announced at the CYO Celebrity Dinner on Thursday, February 22, 2007 at the Hamilton Convention Centre.

Candidates must meet certain criteria for consideration for the annual sports award. A candidate must be, or have been for a significant time, a resident of Hamilton or Burlington. Her or she can be a professional or amateur athlete who has shown superior athletic effort at the provincial, national or international level.

The candidate can be nominated for individual performances or as a member of a team, but a team itself can not be nominated. The award is open to athletes of all ages.

Past winners include swimmer Joanne Malar (1995, ’99 and 2000), cyclist Clara Hughes (1996), middle distance runner Graham Hood (1997), basketball player Titus Channer (1998), paddler Mark Oldershaw (2001), cyclist Sue Palmer-Komar (2002), rower Joe Stankevicius (2003), McMaster running back Jesse Lumsden (2004) and Hamilton Bulldog defenseman Danny Syvret (2005).

Nominations can be faxed to Garry McKay at 905-526-3510. The deadline for nominations is Dec. 31.