Mokawk College honours its athletes for efforts on and off the field

Andrea Bonitatibus is this year’s recipient of the Dr. Sam Mitminger Award at Mohawk College. The annual honour, Mohawk’s top athletic award, goes to the student displaying outstanding qualities in sports and academics.

Bonitatibus is an Ontario Colleges Athletic Association soccer all-star at her defender position and played on both the women’s outdoor and indoor teams. She was a member of the women’s basketball team, and ran in the OCAA Cross Country Championships. Bonitatibus was also a double winner this year taking OCAA and the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Academic Awards.

She was recognized Saturday night at Mohawk College’s annual athletic Award Night.

Jasmin Cull won the Wes Hicks Outstanding Male Athlete Award. Cull had 164 kills, 34 service aces and 11 stuff blocks in leading the OCAA silver medalists winning men’s volleyball team to an 11-1 league record. He was the Central West Region and OCAA scoring leader, a CCAA All-Canadian and Athlete of the Month. He was also OCAA Male Volleyball Player of the Year and a First Team League All-Star. He was a Second Team All-Star at the CCAA Championship and an all-star at three invitational tournaments.

Margaret Myjak was named Outstanding Femaile Athlete for the second straight year.

The Outstanding Female Athlete, for the second straight year, was Margaret Myjak. Myjak won numerous invitational badminton championships en route to a silver medal at the OCAA provincial finals. She was a CCAA All-Canadian and CCAA Athlete of the Month. Myjak also ran cross country, finishing 23rd in the provincial meet and 63rd in the national run. As well, she made both the OCAA and CCAA All-Academic teams.

The All Round Male Varsity Athlete of the Year Award went to Matthew Schnarr. The returning Chair of the Students’ Athletics Committee excelled in two varsity sports. The “libero” played on the men’s volleyball team earning First Team OCAA All-Star selection, a tournament all-star at the Limoilou Quebec Invitational, and was the most valuable player for his division at the OCAA All-Star Game. Schnarr also won a bronze medal in men’s singles play at the OCAA Badminton Championships.

Ali Bettger captured the All Round Female Athlete honour. A midfielder on the women’s outdoor and indoor soccer teams, Bettger was an OCAA league all-star outdoors. She also played for the women’s basketball team and finished 27th in the provincial cross country championships.

James Cumpson was named Male Freshman Varsity Athlete of the Year. (Photo: Ron Bernardo)

The Male Freshman Varsity Athlete of the Year was James Cumpson. He was the leading scorer in OCAA rugby with 59 points, leading his team to a perfect 7-0 league record and the OCAA gold medal. He was a provincial; all-star and helped the Mountaineers to two OCAA Team of the Week Awards.
The Female Freshman honour went to shortstop Samantha Tubman of the women’s fastball team. Tubman, who led Mohawk’s batting statistics, including a .379 average, made a major contribution to a team which started slowly in league play, but then fashioned a strong finish en route to winning the bronze medal at the OCAA Women’s Fastball Championship.

The Department of Athletics and Recreation Award for outstanding Participation in Varsity and Campus Recreation programs was won by Jenny Koschanow. She was an OCAA league all-star pitcher on the bronze medal fastball squad, logging more than 41 innings, striking out 47 batters, while walking only 15 and posting a 2.88 earned-run-average. She also participated in co-ed volleyball and the Retro Night Special Event and showed spirit by supporting the basketball and volleyball teams at home games.

Other Awards handed out on Saturday night included:

Hap Holman Business Award (in recognition of outstanding participation in varsity athletics as a 2nd or 3rd year Business Student): Lindsay Fenner.

Barb Moore Spirit of Athletics Award (In recognition of outstanding contribution in the enhancement of the entire athletic program): Alan Griffiths.

Dr. Keith McIntyre Athletic Leadership Award (In recognition of outstanding leadership qualities which contribute towards the enrichment, support, development and enhancement of Student Life at Mohawk College): Matthew Schnarr.

OCAA and CCAA All Academic Awards. Each year colleges have the opportunity to submit names of athletes who, while achieving athletic excellence, are also able to obtain a high academic standing. Thirty Mohawk College athletes were chosen to Ontario’s All-Academic team They are:

Slavica Beader, Erinn Belot, Ali Bettger, Andrea Bonitatibus, Tara Bonitatibus, Daniel Buchanan, Nicholas Carvalho, James Cumpson, Josh Dekkers, Victoria Donald, Codey Forrest, Russell Gray, Katie Johnston, Candice Kragten, Scott MacLeod, Kathleen Manson, Ashleigh McKillop, Melissa Miles, Margaret Myjak, Meaghan Nadwodny, Christina Pakula, Mireil Palangi, Matt Plachecki, Graeme Reed, Samantha Scott, Greg Shipman, Martin Smith, Peter Sniuolis, Samantha Tubman, Rachel Vinet, and Katie Westoby.

Mohawk also had five selections to the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Academic team. During the 2006-2007 season they were named to their sports’ first or second all star teams or won an OCAA championship gold or silver medal and achieved high academic standing.

Margaret Myjak – Women’s singles badminton.
Ali Bettger – Women’s soccer, basketball and cross country.
Andrea Bonitatibus – Women’s soccer, basketball and cross country.
Peter Sniuolis – Men’s volleyball.
Katie Johnston – Women’s volleyball.

2006-07 Coaches Awards

Most Valuable Player – Margaret Myjak.
Most Improved Player – Crystal Oakes.
Coaches Award – Adam Hayward.

Men’s Basketball
Most Valuable Player – Matt Bruyn.
Most Improved Player – Phil Bucknor.
Coaches Award – Nick Gaspic.

Women’s Basketball
Most Valuable Player – Katie Goodburn.
Most Improved Player – Jennifer Snider.
Coaches Award – Erinn Belot.

Cross Country
Most Valuable Player – Andre Simon.

Most Valuable Player – Aimee Smith.
Most Valuable Player – Kris Blonski.
Most Improved Player – Chris Bennett.
Coaches Award – Haley Emmerson.

Women’s Fastball
Most Valuable Player – Dana Steckle.
Coaches Award – Rebecca Matson.
Coaches Award – Samantha Tubman.

Men’s Rugby
Most Valuable Player – Brian Pearman.
Most Improved Player – Norman Fretz.
Coaches Award – James Cumpson.

Men’s Outdoor Soccer
Most Valuable Player – Joe Grieci.
“Tom Bell” Coaches Award – Filippo Martines.
“Tom Bell” Coaches Award – Matthew Gera.

Men’s Indoor Soccer
Most Valuable Player – Joe Grieci.
Coaches Award – Scott MacLeod.
Coaches Award – Mohamed Musaed.

Women’s Outdoor Soccer
Most Valuable Player – Andrea Bonitatibus.
Most Improved Player – Lisa Pozeg.
Coaches Award – Melissa Miles.

Women’s Indoor Soccer
Most Valuable Player – Ali Bettger.
Most Improved Player – Jillian Fairweather.
Coaches Award – Tara Bonitatibus.

Men’s Volleyball
Most Valuable Player – Jasmin Cull.
Most Valuable Player – Peter Sniuolis.
Coaches Award – Steve Pawelczyk.

Women’s Volleyball
Most Valuable Player – Leah Waxman.
Most Improved Player – Sarah Borycki.
Coaches Award – Stacy Dafoe.