Mac places two on OUA golf all-star team

Two McMaster golfers were named to the Ontario University Athletics 2007-08 men’s and women’s all-stars.

Matt Jacobs (Ancaster) is atop the men’s all-star first-team after being named the OUA Most Valuable Golfer of 2007. At the OUA championship Jacobs finished first in the field with an individual two-day score of 139. Fellow Marauder Jason Wellings (Dundas) is named to the second-team of all-stars.

And McMaster’s Scott Koblynk was named OUA golf coach of the year.

The University of Western Ontario and the University of Waterloo are well-represented in the women’s all-star team each with three players honored. On the men’s side, the University of Waterloo also has a player named to both the first and second all-star teams.

Kaite Lebel (Mooretown, Ont.) and Cheryl Beech (Forest, Ont.) of Western top the list of all-stars as part of the OUA champion squad. The two helped to lead the Mustangs to this year’s provincial title. Lebel was a second-team all-star in 2006. Western’s Stephanie Grenier receives second-team all-star honors.

Tiffany Terrier (Waterloo) of the Waterloo Warriors also receives her second all-star team selection after being honored in 2006. Joining Terrier are second-team all-stars Kristin Hrycko (Toronto) and Katelyn Inlow (Calgary). Toronto’s Danielle Greene (Gananoque, Ont.) is recognized as a first-team all-star for the second time after receiving the honor in 2006. Greene was name the OUA Most Valuable Golfer for the 2007 OUA Championships. Jane Juhng (Toronto, Ont.), also a member of the Varsity Blues, was named a second-team all-star.

After being recognized as a second-team OUA all-star in 2006, Patrick Forbes (Toronto) of Queen’s University receives the first-team nod. Joining him are first-time OUA all-star Steve Tsandelis (Waterloo) of Laurier; first year player Matt Sim (Toronto) of the Waterloo Warriors; and Robert Mustard of the 2007 OUA champion Ottawa Gee-Gees.

Adam Wilson (Port Colborne) is a second-team all-star. Western’s Kevin Bryce (Oakville) and teammate Charles Fitzsimmons (Toronto) represent the Mustangs with second-team all-star honors. Mark Bania of the University of Toronto rounds out the second-team all-stars.

The women’s coach of the year is Waterloo’s Carla Munch-Miranda.