Trio of Marauders named to OUA football all-stars

Three McMaster Marauders have been named to the Ontario University Athletics football first all-star teams for the 2007 season.

Chosen for the offensive team were receivers Mike Bradwell and Rob Serviss. Making the defensive team was tackle Chris Van Zeyl.

Bradwell, a graduate of Toronto’s Leaside high school, had 53 receptions for 958 yards this season. The 21-year-old (his birthday is Nov. 7) played in all eight Marauders games, averaging 18.08 yards per catch and 119.75 per game. His longest went for 108 yards. Nine of his grabs were converted into touchdowns.

The 23-year-old Serviss caught 34 passes for 562 yards in the eight games he played. The Waterloo Bluevale Collegiate product averaged 16.53 yards per snag and 70.25 per game. His longest went for 77 yards and four catches resulted in touchdowns.

Van Zeyl, 24, had 14 solo tackles in the six games he played. The Welland Notre Dame product had four sacks.

The Ottawa Gee-Gees, who finished the regular season with a conference-best 8-0 record, had 10-all-star selections, including eight players on the first-team, to lead all schools. Fourth-year quarterback, Joshua Sacobie (Fredericton, N.B.) leads the offensive all-stars for Ottawa. Sacobie finished first in the OUA regular season with 2,320 passing yards, 21 touchdowns and only four interceptions. He orchestrated an offence that sat first in the league and second in the nation averaging 460 yards per game.

The Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks registered nine all-stars including six first-team all-stars. The Hawks are led by the OUA top tackler, Anthony Maggiacomo (Waterloo) who totaled 60.5 tackles, one sack and one interception. Running back, Ryan Lynch (Waterloo) also earned OUA first-team status. The fourth year athlete finished second in the OUA and fifth in the CIS totaling 1019 yards on the season with nine touchdowns.

The Queen’s Golden Gaels also enjoy a conference-best 12 all-stars, including six first-team selections, highlighted by OUA leading rusher Mike Giffin (Kingston). Giffin, a fourth-year running back totaled 186 carried, 1157 yards and 12 touchdowns on the ground. Joining Giffin on the first-team is inside receiver Rob Bagg (Kingston) who finished second in the OUA with 36 carries for 804 yards and six touchdowns on the season.

Thirteen athletes from first and second team all-star selections will be represented at this year’s 100th edition of the Yates Cup Championship presented by Pioneer Petroleums. Western punter Derek Schiavone (Port Colborne), who repeats as a first-team all-star, will be the sole first team offensive all-star in the championship. Joining Schiavone on the first-team all-stars is defensive halfback Cory McNair (London).

The Guelph Gryphons lead the conference with four second-team offensive selections, lead by offensive duo of quarterback Justin Dunk (Guelph) and running back Nick Fitzgibbon (Puslinch). Dunk finished the season fifth in the OUA passing for 1784 yards, with 17 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. Fitzgibbon finished the season fourth in the province with 794 rushing yards, with five touchdowns, as well as eight receiving touchdowns and 376 receiving yards.

The Yates Cup presented by Pioneer Petroleums is scheduled for Saturday at 1 p.m. Host Guelph Gryphons will face the Western Mustangs at Alumni Stadium in front of a nationally televised audience, live on University Rush on The Score Television Network.