OUA rugby MVP award goes to Mac’s Selby

McMaster Marauders scooped one solo honour and placed six players on the West Division all-star team as the Ontario University Athletics announced its men’s rugby major award winners. Brock University leads the way with two major award winners from the East Division, following a 4-2 regular season campaign and a spot in this weekend’s OUA championship match. The Badgers also have five team members represented on the East Division star team.

Queen’s University and the Royal Military College (RMC) each take home one major award winner and boast six and four players, respectively, with an all-star nod. In the west division, the University of Waterloo claims two major awards, while McMaster University and the University of Western Ontario have one major award winner each. The Marauders lead the west division with six all-star players and the Mustangs are well represented with five.

Mac’s Keegan Selby (Lindsay, Ont.) receives the Most Valuable Player award, and an all-star spot, in recognition of a terrific season for the Marauders. The second-year flanker produced on the scoreboard regularly, scoring five tries throughout the season in addition to a try in their 30-3 quarter-final victory over the University of Guelph. Selby will lead the Marauders in Saturday’s (Nov.10) match against the Mustangs in hopes of claiming the OUA bronze medal.

Other Marauders selected to the all-star squad are Luke Racine, Daniel West, Sam Rimmer, Mike Scholz, and Joel Waldock.

The University of Waterloo’s Athar Zia (Waterloo) is honored with the Rookie of the Year award following a remarkable first season at center. Zia’s tackling-breaking skills and aggressive defense helped lead the Warriors to the playoffs before succumbing to Western in a match that saw Zia score the lone Waterloo try. David Jacks (Tottenham, Ont.), a second-year fullback of Western, receives the Trillium Award (All-Round Player). Jacks displayed his offensive and defensive talents this season in helping to guide the Mustangs to second place in the west and a spot in the bronze medal match. Recording five tries in seven games for the Mustangs, Jacks is tied for twelfth in OUA scoring. Waterloo coach Tom Mandich is recognized as Coach of the Year as the Warriors played to a 3-2 record this year, including a 13-11 victory over McMaster in the final week of play, and a quarter-final playoff berth.

Queen’s University’s Bryn Davies (Schomberg, Ont.) receives the East’s Most Valuable Player award following a standout season with the Gaels. The fourth-year scrum-half is the OUA’s leading scorer after totaling 54 points in the regular season, scoring three tries, 15 converts and three penalty goals. Davies continued his scoring prowess into the playoffs, his biggest contribution coming in the 99-0 win over Trent University in which he recorded two tries and six converts for 22 points. The Rookie of the Year is Brock’s Rory McDonell (Brantford). The first-year Business Administration student plays flyhalf for the Badgers and has been their biggest scorer on the year with 49 points from one try, 16 converts and four penalty goals. McDonell has clearly established himself as an impact player in his early OUA career.

Dan Ropp (New Hamburg, Ont.), also of Brock, is honored with the Trillium Award (All-Round Player) after an impressive performance this season. Ropp has been a consistent offensive force for the Badgers, scoring five tries in six regular season games. Rounding out the east division awards is Coach of the Year Sean McDonaugh of RMC. McDonaugh led the Paladins to a third place finish in the east and a quarter-final berth against OUA finalists Brock.

The other OUA West Division all-stars were Western’s Jacks, Cory Appleton, Andrew Buxton-Forman, Andrew Tyler, and Kevin Feheley; Waterloo’s Daniel Jilek, Andy Reitzel, Adrian Lui, Jeff Robinson; Guelph’s Matt Hendrie, Harrison Brown, and Kyle Binkley; Laurie’s Jacob McNamara, and Mike Talbot; Windsor’s Graham Haigh and Andrew Ziricino.

From the East: Queen’s Pat Richardson, Alistair Clark, Tim Richardson, Bryn Davies, James Potter, and Colin Alexander; Brock’s Rory McDonell, Ray Barkwell, Matt Wyles, Adam Schouten, and Jon Cregg; RMC’s Matt McLeod, James Wood, Chris Wood, and Brent McIntyre; Trent’s Mike Moores, Mike Donald, and Alex Spiridis; Toronto’s Oghenekevwe Igharoro, and Farshad Azadian.