Looking for Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2007 Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year.

Candidates of the award must meet a number of criteria to qualify for the award, sponsored by The Hamilton Spectator. Nominees must be, or have been for a significant period of time, a resident of Hamilton or Burlington. There is no age restriction and the candidate may be a professional or amateur athlete.

The athlete must have demonstrated superior abilities at the provincial, national or international level and could have been performed in individual competitions or as a team member. The award is open to male and female athletes, but only one award will be presented.

All nominations must be submitted on-line through the Hamilton Spectator’s Web site at www.thespec.com and click on sports. Look for the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year link on the navigation bar near the top of the page on the right hand side. Then fill out the official nomination form.

Nominations must be submitted by Dec. 31.

The winner will be announced at the CYO Celebrity Dinner on Thursday, Feb. 28 at the Hamilton Convention Centre.

Last year’s winner was women’s professional basketball player Shona Thoburn of Hamilton. She is currently playing in Spain.

Other winners include swimmer Joanne Malar (1995, 1999 and 2000), cyclist Clara Hughes (1996), middle distance runner Graham Hood (1997), basketball player Titus Channer (1998), paddler Mark Oldershaw (2001), cyclist Sue Palmer-Komar (2002), rower Joe Stankevicius (2003), McMaster running back Jesse Lumsden (2004), and Hamilton Bulldog defenseman Danny Syvret (2005).