Mohawk volleyball players spike major athletic awards

Volleyball stars came away the big winners from Mohawk College’s 41st Annual Athletics Awards Banquet on Saturday (April 5). Leah Waxman and Jasmin Cull were both named the outstanding athletes for the 2007-08 season.

The two athletes were each selected Ontario Colleges Athletic Association volleyball players of the year and Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Canadians.

Cull, the winner of the Wes Hicks Outstanding Male Athlete Award, an honour named after the former athletic director at the college, was also the CCAA Volleyball Player of the Year propelling the Mountaineers to a national bronze medal. He was named to the First All-Star Team at the CCAA championship. Mohawk went through the regular season with a 12-0 record and then captured the OCAA championship. Cull, the OCAA tournament MVP and first team league All-Star, was the Central West Region scoring champion and re-wrote the record books while receiving a plethora of individual and team accolades along the way. He scored 65 service aces to smash the previous record of 38. Playing in only his second year, the three time OCAA Male Athlete of the Week set an OCAA record for career aces with 121. The old mark was 86.

Waxman was the OCAA Central West scoring leader and OCAA first team All-Star to go with her other honours. She picked up an OCAA Female Athlete of the Week award leading her squad to a 12-2 league record and a bronze medal at the OCAA Championship.

Cross country sensation Charlene Gibbins, who hadn’t even run competitively in high school, let alone college, won the Female Freshman Athlete of the Year after an amazing first season. She won an OCAA Cross Country bronze medal, was the top Ontario runner and finished seventh overall at the CCAA Championships. She also placed in the top ten at numerous invitational events leading to the championships.

The Male Freshman Athlete of the Year is Sean Lowe, from the men’s volleyball team. Along with his team honours, Lowe, an OCAA First Team All-Star, was also an OCAA and CCAA All-Academic student athlete.

Amanda Edmonds was named the All Round Female Athlete. The honour goes to an athlete who plays for more than one varsity team in the same year. Edmonds somehow managed to play for two teams in the same semester. The OCAA All-Academic was a goalkeeper on the women’s soccer team and an outfielder for the Silver Medal winning Mountaineer fastball squad at the OCAA Championship.

Russell Gray was named winner of the prestigious Dr. Sam Mitminger Award, the highest honour awarded in Mohawk Athletics. Named after the former Mohawk President, it is presented in recognition of a graduating student’s Academic and Athletic Excellence. Gray, who completed three years of varsity curling, winning a silver medal with the men’s team in 2006, then was part of the gold medal winning Mixed Team in 2008. He was an OCAA All-Academic for all three of his years at Mohawk, maintaining a 92 percent average.

Other Awards

Hap Holman Business Award – Cameron Watson
Barb Moore Spirit of Athletics Award – Frank Mauro
Dr. Keith McIntyre Athletic Leadership Award – Alan Griffiths
Dept. of Athletics and Recreation Award – Brett Scheider