Hamilton Hurricanes pick OFC all-star team members

The Hamilton Hurricanes placed six players on the Ontario Football Conference’s all-star teams at the conclusion of the 2008 season.

The Hurricanes were returning to the junior football loop this year after moth balling their franchise for 14 seasons. They finished with a 4-4 record, winning their final four games.

Selected to the all-star rosters, with the teams they played for last year in brackets, were:

Andrew Lobsinger (Niagara Spears) – Offensive Line; Steven Hughes (York University) – Receiver; Mike DiCroce (Steel City Ironmen) – Punter; Vince Reid (Brebeuf High School) – Defensive Line; Aram Eisho (Brebeuf High School) – Linebacker; Justin Boudreau (Steel City Ironmen / Brebeuf High School) – Defensive Back (Justin was also nominated in the kicker category).

The ‘Canes also had strong representation for the Conference’s major awards, taking four of the nine honours and having a finalist in the 10th award to be named later.

Hughes was named the Conference’s top offensive player; Eisho took the top defensive award; Brian Echlin (Steel City Ironmen / Cathedral High School) was named the top offensive rookie; and coach of the year was Jason Hayes.

The other conference award to be announced is for community involvement. The Hurricanes’ Johnathan Tenbrinke (Grimsby High School) is one of the final two players up for the honour.

The Burlington Braves’ Robin Medeiros was a double winner, taking the conference’s Return Specialist honour and the Special Teams Player of the Year.

The all-star selections and the conference award winners will now be submitted to the Canadian Junior Football League for National Awards consideration.