Who will be this year’s Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year?

It’s time to select the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year for 2008.

The committee which administers this prestigious award is now accepting nominations from the public. The winner of the Bill Sturrup Trophy will be announced at the CYO Celebrity Dinner on Thursday, Feb. 26 at the Hamilton Convention Centre.

Past winners of the honour, sponsored by The Spectator, include swimmer Joanne Malar in 1995, 1999 and 2000, cyclists Clara Hughes in 1996 and Sue Palmer-Komar in 2002, middle distance runner Graham Hood in 1997, basketball players Titus Channer in 1998 and Shona Thorburn In 2006, paddler Mark Oldershaw in 2001, rower Joe Stankevicius in 2003, McMaster running back Jesse Lumsden in 2004, (former) Hamilton Bulldog defenseman Danny Syvret in 2005, and Ladies Professional Golf Association player Alena Sharp in 2007.

To be considered for the award, nominees must: be a resident of Hamilton or Burlington or have been a resident for a significant period of time. They must have demonstrated superior athletic performances at the provincial, national or international level and their performance could be as an individual or as part of a team.

There is no age restriction and athletes can be professionals or amateurs.

Nominations must be submitted on-line through the Hamilton Spectator Web Site at www.thespec.com and clicking on sports. Look for the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year link on the navigation bar near the top of the page on the right hand side.

Nominations must be submitted by Dec. 31.