Eagle Tykes like the The Shoe’s new fit

Champions in six age divisions (Tyke, Novice, Atom, Peewee, Bantam, and Midget) were crowned during the finals of the four-day Burlington Golden Horseshoe AAA Hockey Tournament Tuesday (Dec 30) at Central Arena.

The hometown Eagles Tyke team took the first game in an action filled 10-9 OT win with Brendan Bowie of Burlington being named the Most Valuable Player. This was the first time that the “Shoe” had a Tyke division and it appears to have been a success. For many of these players, it was their first experience of a major tournament.

In the other divisions, Novice York Simcoe Express defeated Clarington Toros 4-1 with Wes Weir of York Simcoe being named the MVP. In Atom, Mississauga Reps defeated Halton Hurricanes 7-1. Victor Mete of Mississauga was the MVP while in Peewee, Hamilton Junior Bulldogs defeated Huron Perth Lakers 8-3 with Connor Murphy leading the way as the team’s MVP.

Bantam play saw Hamilton Huskies shutting out Vaughan Kings 2-0 with goalie Lake Molleson picking up his second shutout of the playoffs, and the MVP award.

Oshawa Minor Generals in the Midget title match edged Toronto Nationals 2-1 in an overtime thriller to bookend the tournament. Andy Shure of Oshawa earned the MVP award.

Ninety-nine teams participated in this international tournament played in four of Burlington’s major ice facilities. Sixteen teams from the United States and two from Finland competed.

Last year 60 teams entered the tournament. In addition to the games, a number of special events kept everyone busy. There was a skills competition to test players and a Burlington Cougars Junior A hockey game to attend in addition to the opening and a dinner for the players, their families, and billets.

A $10,000 “Shoot to Win” fundraising contest brought in more than $600 for Carpenter Hospice in Burlington.

Playoff results

Tyke semi-finals

Burlington Eagles 6 , Port Credit Storm 2. Burlington: Brendan Bowie (5), Michael Miele (1 goal, 1assist), Tyler Mitchell (3 assists). Port Credit: Jason White (1 goal, 1 assist), Nicolas D’Agostino.

Don Mills Flyers 7, Oakville Rangers 1. Don Mills: Nash Ryan (3), Aaron Luke (2), Kevin Kozik (2). Oakville: Michael Jackman.

Championship: Burlington Eagles 10, Don Mills Flyers 9 (OT). Burlington: Brendan Bowie (3 including the game-winner with one minute left to play in overtime), Dylan Abbamont (2) with Mike Miele, Cooper Hood, Tyler Mitchell, Zachary Odbert, and Gavin Morrison adding singles. Don Mills: Ryan Nash (6, record is 9 by Wayne Gretzky). Jakson Raposo, Nick Papoutsidis, and Andy DaSilva added one each.

Novice semi-final

York Simcoe Express 6, Mt. Clemens Wolves 3. York Simcoe: Paul O’Doherty, Riley Schlichting, Max Ferrari, Cameron Busby, Brad Murchison, and Matthew MacDougall. Mt. Clemens: Noah Carlin, Anthony Cinato, and Evan Orr.

Clarington Toros 5, Hamilton Jr Bulldogs 1. Clarington: David McCabe (1 goal, 2 assists), Alex Hotchkiss, Riley Girard, Cody Cowie, Ryan Smith. Hamilton: Matthew Bridgewater.


York Simcoe Express 4, Clarington Toros 1. York Simcoe: Wesley Weir (1-1, MVP). Singles by Calvin Hyde, Carver Delmas, and Paul O’Doherty. Clarington: Cameron Hills.

Atom semi-final

Welland Tigers 1, Mississauga Reps 2. Mississauga: Daniel Bancheri, Ryan Barbosa. Welland: Chad Maurice.

York Simcoe Express 1, Halton Hurricanes 5. Halton: Bret McInall, Nicolas Stuckless, Daniel Hardie (1-2), Travis Brown, Cameron Downey (1-1). York Simcoe: Cameron Wright.


Mississauga Reps 7, Halton Hurricanes 1. Mississauga: Victor Mete (1-1, MVP), Gianfranco Mastroianni (2) with Lucas Colalillo, Joshua Dame, Julian Florindi, and Ethan Cummins adding singles. Halton: Daniel Hardie.

Peewee semi-final

Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs 4, Don Mills Flyers 3. Hamilton: Connor Murphy (2), Patrick Walsh, Brandon Kolaski. Don Mills: Nathan Grossi (2), Nicolas Petropoulos.

Huron Perth Lakers 4, Central Ontario Wolves 3 (4OT). Huron Perth: Derek Elliot (2), Brody Tenpas, Gregory Swan. Central Ontario: Nolan Dunn, Jeff St. Pierre, Brett Reesor.


Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs 8, Huron Perth Lakers 3. Hamilton: Connor Murphy (2-2, MVP), Nathan Tandan (2-1), and Michael Werner (2). Michael Menicanin and Anthony Cino, singles.

Huron Perth: Alex Peters, Brody Tenpas, Nathan Templeman.

Bantam semi-final

Canton Crush 0, Hamilton Huskies 1. Hamilton: Mitch Reid. Shutout: Lake Molleson.

Vaughan Kings 4, Burlington Eagles 2. Vaughan: Wayne McCann (2-1), John Carpino (1-1), Teo Vietri. Burlington: Joshua Anderson (2).


Hamilton Huskies 2, Vaughan Kings 0. Hamilton: Lake Molleson (second shutout in the playoffs, MVP). Luc Chatelain and Mitchell Reid.

Midget semi-final

York Simcoe Express 2, Toronto Nationals 4. York Simcoe: Chris Barrett (1-1), Adam Dowies.

Toronto: Chris Aitcheson (2), Domenic Calabrigo, Ian MacDonald.

Burlington Eagles 0, Oshawa Minor Generals 5. Oshawa: Adam Szwed (3), Luke Laszkiewicz, and Joe McLellan, Shutout: Jeremy Kolodziej.


Oshawa Minor Generals 2, Toronto Nationals 1 (OT). Oshawa: Andy Shure (MVP), Adam Szwed, Mark Keenan (including game-winner 0.57 seconds of overtime). Toronto: Blake Ertel.

Tournament results can be found on the website www.TheShoe.ca