Mountain volleyball teams duplicate tourney finishes

The Mountain Athletic Club volleyball 16U boys and girls finished fifth in their respective tournaments this past weekend (Jan. 10).

The MAC 16U girls competed in the McGregor Cup Championship West at the University of Western Ontario. Finishing third in pool play, MAC was defeated by the Oakville Thunder Blue (25-23, 14-25, 16-18) and by the South County Bandits (20-25, 19-25). In the pre-quarters, MAC s defeated London Forest City 15U Green (25-23, 23-25, 15-13) and lost to the Peel Selects 93 (17-25, 11-25) in the quarter finals.

For fifth place, MAC defeated Riverside Rage (16-25, 26-24, 16-14).

Serena Smith, of Caledonia, led the squad with 23 spike kills and five service aces. Stoney Creek’s Natasha Valconi had 15 kills and eight aces while Brittany Davies of Ancaster had four kills and led on defence with 15 digs.

The MAC 16U girls are coached by Chiara Salvatore of Hamilton and Jeff Hinchliffe of Binbrook. Other team members include: Michelle Baker, Ancaster; Antoinette Clazzer, Stoney Creek; Brittany Davies, Ancaster; Jade DeCoste, Hamilton; Madison Gunn, Dundas; Cassandra Kovacic, Hamilton; Catherine McIntyre, Burlington; Hillary Molnar, Burlington;

The MAC 16U boys competed at the 16U Boys McGregor Cup Premier Division at Humber College in Toronto. Finishing first in their pool, MAC defeated Riverside (25-21, 23-25, 15-11) and the Waterloo Tigers 93 Black (28-26, 25-18) but lost to Crush (23-25, 25-22, 11-15).

In the quarter finals, MAC lost the Northumberland Breakers Black (25-21, 23-25, 11-15). For fifth place, MAC defeated the Durham Attack Black (25-22, 25-20).

The MAC 16U boys are coached by Hamilton’s Chris Marynowicz, head coach, and assistants Derek Jones of Burlington and Jeff Hargot of Hamilton. Team members include: Blasé Wasser, Burlington; Daniel Groenveld, Welland, Zach Kool, Ancaster, Dario Dubicanac, Hamilton, Philip Marynowicz, Hamilton, Jeremy Coulson, Burlington, Daniel Gayle, Hamilton, Jordan MacIntyre, Campbellville, Adrian Swist, Hamilton,

Matt Kewin, Campbellville, Christian Filice, Ancaster, Eric Luangpakdy, Hamilton Mountain, Rafael Leite, Burlington, Pawel Jedrzejewski, Hamilton, and Derek Lahaie, Waterdown.