Mac sweeps OUA squash coaching honours

McMaster had a strong showing on the Ontario University Athletics’ squash all-stars, including two coach’s awards for the 2008-09 season.

Doug Hamilton, women’s team, and Darryl White, men’s team, were named coaches of the year. Hamilton guided the Marauders to the OUA squash championship with an overall record of 2-2. White led Mac to a 4-2 season which saw the Marauders go 21-15 in their matches.

From Mac’s players’ side, Kristina Taylor (Ile Perrot, Que.) was selected a first-team all-star and Sunayna Gupta (Toronto) made the second team. On the men’s side, Hamilton’s Ahmed Shohayeb was a first-team choice.

Western university’s Kimesh Chetty of Hamilton was a men’s second team selection and Rachael Forgeron of St. Catharines was picked for the women’s second team of all-stars.

Stephanie Edmison (Toronto) of the Western Mustangs is the Women’s Player of the Year for the second straight season. Edmison helped lead the Mustangs to an overall record of 3-1 on the season and a match record of 19-5. She was perfect in three matches during the OUA season, including a 3-0 victory over McMaster’s Gupta (Toronto) in the sectionals. Edmison also defeated Carly Hong (Toronto) of McGill 3-0 (9-0, 9-1, 9-6) and Hilary Dugan (Sarnia) of Queen’s 3-0 (9-0, 9-1, 9-1) in the OUA crossovers. Edmison is also a first team all-star.

Edmison’s teammate, Kathleen Horman (Toronto) is the Women’s Rookie of the Year. During the crossovers, Horman was victorious in two matches, a 3-0 (9-1, 9-1, 9-1) win over Tanya Starret-Visser (Montreal) of McGill and a 3-0 (9-1, 9-1, 9-2) sweep over Alison Wardlaw (London) of Queen’s. Horman had a 2-1 record on the season.

On the men’s side, Eric Dingle (Calgary) of the Waterloo Warriors is a three-time Men’s Player of the Year. Dingle defeated Mac’s Shohayeb (3-0 (9-7, 9-3, 9-3) and Ben Abraham (Fonthill) of Brock 3-0 (9-1, 9-0, 9-0) in the OUA sectionals. He followed this up with 3-0 victories over Ahad Raza (Mississauga) of Toronto (9-0, 9-5, 9-3), Alex Ford (London) of Queen’s (9-3, 9-1, 9-1) and Ben Marien (Westmount) of McGill (9-4, 9-2, 9-3) in the crossovers. Dingle finished with an overall regular season record of 5-1.

The Men’s Rookie of the Year is Ryan Herden (Vancouver) of Western. Playing as the No. 2 seed at the sectionals, Herden swept his opponents by 3-0 scores, defeating Andy Roberts (Ottawa) of Brock (9-4, 9-1, 9-7), Kyle Rabley (Waterloo) of Waterloo (9-3, 9-0, 9-2) and Michael Fong (Barrie) of McMaster (9-0, 9-0, 9-2).

Joining Edmison as women’s OUA first team all-stars are Hong, Heather Lamb (Calgary) of the Mustangs, Karlene Headley-Cooper (Mississauga) of the Toronto Varsity Blues, Taylor, and Elizabeth France (Calgary) of McGill.

Gupta, Dugan are second team all-stars, along with Megan Northey (Victoria, B.C.), Cami Marmoush (Cairo, Egypt) and Edith Chow (Thornhill) of the Varsity Blues and of Western.

Men’s first team all-stars include Dingle, Marien, Raza, Shohayeb and Herden, along with Chris Hanebury (Ajax) of the Mustangs.

Iain Crozier (Winnipeg), Strachan Jarvis (Toronto) and Paul Gartenburg (Toronto) and Alex Ford (London) of Queen’s and Aadam Tejpar (Vancouver) of McGill form the second team all-stars.