OUA all-star volleyball honours for Marauders

Five members of the McMaster University Marauders men’s volleyball team finished their season with Ontario University Athletics all-star honours. And The Dale Iwanoczko Sportsman Award went to Mac’s Peter Hrkal (Caledon). Hrkal is an active volunteer, donating his time to the David Braley Sports Medicine Clinic at McMaster as well as Hamilton’s Riddell Youth Sports Academy. He is also a member of Athletes In Action.

The honours student is a Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) Academic All-Canadian, as well as a member of the Dean’s List and a Marauder Scholar. Hrkal was the team-leader in kills, kill percentage and blocks, fully recovering from shoulder surgery he received two seasons ago. He is also a First Team All-Star.

Steven Kung (Toronto) of the Toronto Varsity Blues is the 2008-09 OUA volleyball Player of the Year. Kung was one of the highlights of a Varsity Blues team that just fell short of the OUA playoffs, averaging 4.39 points per set, the only OUA player to average more than four points a set. He was also the only OUA player to earn over 300 total points for the entire season with 329.

Kung was the OUA leader in kills with 287. He was 15th in blocks with 36 and 14th in digs with 110. He was also named an OUA First Team All-Star.

Sam Schachter (Richmond Hill) of the Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks is the OUA Rookie of the Year. Schachter was part of a Golden Hawks squad that made the OUA playoffs for the first time in 10 seasons. He led OUA in service aces with 40, fourteen better than his closet competitor.

Schachter was seventh in OUA in points with 243, averaging 3.57 per set. He was 14th in kills with 181, tied for 16th in blocks with 35, and contributed 71 digs on the season. He is also a member of the OUA All-Rookie Team.

Gabe Degroot (Langley, B.C.) of the Guelph Gryphons is the Libero of the Year. The fourth-year player was the OUA leader in digs with 249, sixty-four more than his closest competitor. Degroot averaged 3.46 digs per set and was part of a Gryphons team that made the OUA playoffs for the second straight season.

Jim Sage of the Western Mustangs is the OUA Coach of the Year. The Mustangs finished in third place with a record of 15-5, two wins better than the previous season. Among the team’s wins was a road victory against first place McMaster, and a pair of wins against the second place Queen’s Gaels.

Joining Kung and Hrkal as First Team All-Stars are McMaster’s Jeremy and Nathan Groenveld (Welland), Eric Simon (London) of the Mustangs, Cameron Wheelan (Barrie) of the Golden Hawks and Joren Zeeman (Cambridge) of the Gaels.

OUA Second Team All-Stars include Kyle Bryce (Guelph) of the Mustangs, Jeff DeMeza (Calgary) of Queen’s, Reid Hall (Georgetown) of the York Lions, Jessi Lelliott (Kelowna, B.C.) of the Varsity Blues, Chris McLaughlin (Ottawa) of the Ryerson Rams, Kevin Stewart (Ancaster) of the Gryphons and Tyler Vivian (Mitchell) of the Waterloo Warriors.

Joining Schachter on the All-Rookie Team are Justin Kuskoff (Sarnia) and Kyle Williamson (Essex) of the Windsor Lancers, Mike Manning (Vernon, B.C.) of the Varsity Blues, Luka Milosevic (Toronto) of the Rams, Shayne Petrusma (Bowmanville) of McMaster and Winston Rosser (Whitby) of the Gryphons.