Hutton rules the court for the OUA’s East

Hamilton’s Alaine Hutton, a fourth-year guard for the Toronto Varsity Blues, is the Ontario University Athletics’ East Division Player of the Year.

She finished the regular season tied for second in OUA scoring with 392 points, an average of 17.8 points per game. The Varsity Blues had the best record in the East Division in 2008-09 at 17-5. Hutton also headlines the OUA East Division First Team All-Stars.

Carleton Ravens fourth-year guard Tanya Perry (Barrie) is the OUA East Division Defensive Player of the Year. She finished the season tied for third in the division with 4.05 turnovers per game and fifth in the East with 108 defensive rebounds. The Ravens finished the regular season in third place in the East Division with a 14-8 record. Perry is also a member of the OUA East Division Second Team All-Stars.

Forward Abby Edmisson (Carleton Place) of the Royal Military College Paladins is the OUA East Division Rookie of the Year. Edmisson scored 155 points while securing 1 44 rebounds in her first OUA season. Edmisson’s field goal percentage was 37.3 for the season, as she was successful on 66-of-177 shots. She along with her teammates celebrated RMC’s first women’s basketball victory in school history in early February, ending a 128-game losing streak. Edmisson is also a member of the East All-Rookie team.

Laurentian Lady Vees fifth-year forward Amanda McConnell (Regina) is the Joy Bellinger Award of Merit winner. McConnell has endured through personal adversity, losing her mother to breast cancer in her first season with the Lady Vees. McConnell responded to this tragedy by doing all she can to support cancer research, including Run for the Cure and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association “Think Pink” breast cancer fundraising events. As President of the Laurentian Athletic Council, McConnell has spearheaded food drives, organized Christmas baskets for the less fortunate, organized health and fitness programs in local schools, and reading to local elementary school children.

Ottawa Gee-Gees head coach Andy Sparks is the OUA East Division Coach of the Year. The first-year head coach of the Gee-Gees sparked an incredible turnaround for Ottawa, as the tea m finished with a 15-7 record following a 3-19 mark last season.

Other members of the East Division First Team All-Stars alongside Hutton is Varsity Blues teammate Nicki Schutz (Toronto), crosstown rival Laura MacCallum (Paris) of the York Lions, Brittany Moore (Hannon) of the Queen’s Gaels and Ines Jelic (London) of the Ravens. MacCallum, a fifth-year guard, led OUA in scoring with 398 points, an average of 18.1 per game. Schutz was among the league leaders in with 362 points and 258 rebounds. Moore finished tied for second in OUA with Hutton with 392 points, while Jelic was fifth in the division in field-goal percentage at 46.9 percent.

Joining Perry as East Division Second Team All-Stars are Emilie Morasse (Quebec City) of the Gee-Gees, Darrah Bumstead (New Hamburg) of the Lady Vees, Sharlene Harding (Brampton) of the Paladins and Jenny Hobbs (Burlington) of the Ryerson Rams.

The East Division All-Rookie team is comprised of Edmisson, Alyson Bush (Ottawa) and Kendall MacLeod (Brockville) of the Ravens, Emily Perras (Lindsay) of the Lions and Angela Tilk (Welland) of the Rams.