Four Bruins selected to OCAA all-star teams

Rachel Niven of St. Lawrence College Kingston was unanimously named the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association Player of the Year after leading her region and the league in scoring, averaging 22.29 points per game, the fourth highest average in OCAA women’s basketball history.

Niven led her team in most major statistical categories including free throw percentage, total points and steals. Niven also led the OCAA in two point field goals and was in the top 10 for three-pointers, free-throw percentage and steals.

The 5’8″ point guard also led her team to a 10-4 record and a final four appearance. This is the Calgary native’s first All-Canadian nomination.

Sara Maybee of the Loyalist Lancers was also named a Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Canadian, making both nominees from the East Region. Maybe finished the season second in scoring behind Niven and led her team to a 6-8 record.

Kaitlynn Paulley burst onto the OCAA basketball scene with the Humber Hawks and was named Rookie of the Year. Paulley led the West Region in scoring with 15.79 PPG and was named a First Team West Region All-star for her standout season.

Garnering honours from the bench were head coaches Andrea Blackwell of the St. Lawrence Vikings (East) and Matt White of the Fanshawe Falcons (West). Blackwell was also nominated for the CCAA Coach of the Year award.

Other award winners included:

Player of the Year

Rachel Niven (St. Lawrence)

CCAA All-Canadians

Rachel Niven (St. Lawrence)
Sara Maybee (Loyalist)

League Scoring Champion

Rachel Niven (St. Lawrence, 22.29 PPG)

Regional Scoring Champion

East Rachel Niven (St. Lawrence, 22.29 PPG)
West Kaitlynn Paulley (Humber, 15.79 PPG)

Coach of the Year

East Andrea Blackwell (St. Lawrence)
West Matt White (Fanshawe)

CCAA Coach of the Year Nominee

Andrea Blackwell (St. Lawrence)

Rookie of the Year

East Lina Aywas (Algonquin)
West Kaitlynn Paulley (Humber)
OCAA Kaitlynn Paulley (Humber)

Defensive Player of the Year

East Ashley Docking (Seneca)
West Alison Griffiths (Fanshawe)

East Region

First Team
Natasha Thombs (Seneca)
Ashley Docking (Seneca)
Summer Bly (Georgian)
Sara Maybee (Loyalist)
Rachel Niven (St. Lawrence)

Second Team

Erin Emery (Durham)
Chantal Gray (George Brown)
Brenda Carachure (George Brown)
Erin Rose (Loyalist)
Bailey Lomas (St. Lawrence)

All-Rookie Team

Jessica Newton (Durham)
Samantha Jansen (Durham)
Lina Aywas (Algonquin)
Brenda Carachure (George Brown)
Heather Alonzo (Seneca)

West Region

First Team

Alison Griffiths (Fanshawe)
Kaitlynn Paulley (Humber)
Jessica James (Niagara)
Hali Burns (Sheridan)
Sara Levesque (St. Clair)

Second Team

Chelsea Nekuliak (Algoma)
Jeralyn Espiritu (Sheridan)
Nakia Arthur (Sheridan)
Sarah Moxley (Sheridan)
Sarah Stevens (St. Clair)

All-Rookie Team

Chelsea Nekuliak (Algoma)
Julia Wolynski (Fanshawe)
Kaitlynn Paulley (Humber)
Vivian Essuon (Sheridan)
Jenae Grayer (St. Clair)