Mohawk misses men’s basketball all-star selections

Third-year standout Charly Spurr of Algonquin College was named the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association Men’s Basketball Player of the Year.

Spurr averaged 21.75 PPG from the guard position and led his team to an 18-2 record on the season. The 5’11 player was also named a Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Canadian and a First Team East Region All-star.

Brady Bolan of Cambrian College finished second in the scoring race, averaging 23.70 PPG and was also named a CCAA All-Canadian for his efforts.

Anthony Hinds, a six-foot guard from Markham, kept the Algonquin faithful cheering as he was named the OCAA Rookie of the Year. Hinds averaged 17.05 PPG and led his team from the charity stripe with an 81% efficiency rate. He was also named a second team East Region All-star.

Being honoured for their efforts from the sidelines, Barry Smith of St. Lawrence College (East) and Darrell Glenn of Humber College (West) were named as their region’s Coaches of the Year. Darrell Glen was also nominated as the CCAA Coaching Award of Excellence.

Others honoured by the OCAA included:

Player of the Year

Charly Spurr Algonquin

CCAA All-Canadian

Charly Spurr Algonquin
Brady Bolan Cambrian

League Scoring Champion

Roderick Robinson – Centennial, 26.39

Regional Scoring Champion

East Roderick Robinson – Centennial, 26.39
West David Korenic – St. Clair, 23.22

Coach of the Year

East Barry Smith St. Lawrence
West Darrell Glenn Humber

CCAA Coach of the Year Nominee

Darrell Glenn Humber

Rookie of the Year

East Anthony Hinds, Algonquin
West Rob Pierce, Lambton
OCAA Anthony Hinds, Algonquin

Defensive Player of the Year

East Remy Simpson, St. Lawrence
West Jadwey Hemmings, Humber

West Region

First Team

Matt Fennell, Fanshawe
Akeem Sween, Humber
David Akelaitis, Lambton
David Korenic, St. Clair
Tab Donaldson, Sheridan

Second Team

Patrick Murray, Algoma
Jabari Cooper, Fanshawe
Daviau Rodney, Humber
Jadwey Hemmings, Humber
Jelani Matthews, Sheridan

West Region All-Rookie Team

Jordan Dixon, Fanshawe
Michael Acheampong, Humber
Rob Pierce, Lambton
Chris Scott, St. Clair
Kareem Malcolm, Sheridan

East Region

First Team

Charly Spurr, Algonquin
Brady Bolan, Cambrian
Roderick Robinson, Centennial
Jovain Wilson, Fleming P.
Mathieu Riendeau, St. Lawrence

Second Team

Anthony Hinds, Algonquin
Eric Smith, Durham
Anthony Batchelor, Durham
Tony Duran, Fleming P.
Collin Whitely, George Brown

East Region All-Rookie Team

Anthony Hinds, Algonquin
Eric Smith, Durham
Jermaine Duke, Fleming P.
Ajhmo Clarke, St. Lawrence
Vadim Halimov, Seneca