Jancevski leaves his mark on the Bulldogs’ blueline

For the third time in his American Hockey League career, Dan Jancevski has been voted the Hamilton Bulldogs’ top defenceman.

Jancevski, a native of Windsor, first won the Tim Horton’s Top Defenceman Award, for his play in the 2004-05 season and repeated the honour the following campaign. The 27-year-old competed in 76 games with the ‘Dogs in 2008-2009, recording 28 points (one goal, 27 assists) and 76 penalty minutes. Jancevski, a 6-foot-3, 212-pound blueliner, is Hamilton’s franchise leader in all-time points by a defenceman with 85 (14 goals, 71 assists) and is the franchise’s all-time plus/minus leader with a plus-54 rating.

His award was one of several the Bulldogs announced on Monday (April 13) while the team awaits the start of the AHL’s post season.

Goaltender Marc Denis earned two awards, winning The Hamilton Spectator Most Valuable Player Award and The Molson Cup Three Stars Award. In 46 games with the ‘Dogs this season, the 6-foot, 190-pound netminder amassed a record of 27-18-0 along with a goals-against-average of 2.46, a 0.920 save percentage, and five shutouts.

The native of Montreal was named the Rbk/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending Nov. 2 after recording three wins in as many starts and stopping 96 of 99 of the shots he faced. The 31-year-old played 20 minutes with the Montreal Canadiens on Jan. 2 making six saves on seven shots.

Yanick Lehoux was the recipient of The ATS Leading Scorer Award which is given to the Bulldog who leads the team in scoring at the end of the regular season. The native of Montreal played in all 80 regular season games for the Bulldogs and led the club in assists with 41 and points with 60 while also earning 38 penalty minutes.

Lehoux, a 6-foot-1, 200-pound centre, and Ryan White were the only two Hamilton players to play in every regular season game this year.

Three Bulldogs, David Desharnais, Ben Maxwell and Yannick Weber, earned The Swiss Chalet Top Rookie Award. Desharnais, a 22-year-old native of Quebec City, registered 58 points (24 goals, 34 assists) in 77 games this. The 5-foot-6, 177-pound centre was also the winner of The Flamboro Downs Workhorse of the Year Award for the hardest working Bulldogs player.

Maxwell, a 20-year-old native of North Vancouver, B.C., accumulated 58 assists (22 goals, 36 assists) and 58 penalty minutes. The 6-foot, 177-pound centre was also the recipient of The H.E.C.F.I. Community Leadership Award for his work within the Hamilton Community. Maxwell was actively involved in visiting various Hamilton schools to help execute new educational programs as well as visiting the McMaster Children’s Hospital and taking part in the Bulldogs Foundation Casino Night.

Weber played in 68 games with Hamilton leading all Bulldogs defencemen in points with 44 (16 goals, 28 assists) and earning 42 penalty minutes. The native of Morges, Switzerland, was named to the 2008-2009 AHL All-Rookie team and participated in the 2009 AHL All-Star Classic. The 5-foot-10, 195-pound defenceman also set franchise records for most goals by a Bulldogs defenceman in one season (16) and most power-play goals by a Hamilton defenceman in one season (10) and also tied the franchise record for most points by a Bulldogs defenceman in one season (44).

Captain Kyle Chipchura won The Bill Sturrup Trophy. Chipchura played in 51 games for Hamilton this year posting 35 points (14 goals, 21 assists) and 65 penalty minutes. The 6-foot-2, 205-pound native of Westlock, Albert also played in 13 games with the Montreal Canadiens this season registering three assists and five penalty minutes.

The award winners:

The Hamilton Spectator Most Valuable Player Award (voted by the Bulldogs players): Goalie Marc Denis.

Previous winners are: Steve Passmore (1998-99), Daniel Cleary (1999-00), Paul Healey & Brian Swanson (2000-01), Brian Swanson (2001-02), Jason Ward (2002-03), Benoit Gratton (2003-04), Chris Higgins (2004-05), Marc-Antoine Pouliot (2005-06), Jaroslav Halak (2006-07), Jaroslav Halak (2007-08).

The ATS Leading Scorer Award (Awarded to the team’s leading scorer during the regular season): Yanick Lehoux.

Previous winners: Tomas Plekanec (2004-05), Corey Locke (2005-06), Duncan Milroy (2006-07), Corey Locke (2007-08).

The Tim Horton’s Top Defenceman Award: Dan Jancevski.

Previous winners: Todd Reirden (1998-99), Alex Zhurik (1999-00), Rory Fitzpatrick (2001-02), Sven Butenschon (2001-02), Marc-Andre Bergeron (2002-03), Francois Beauchemin & Patrick Traverse (2003-04), Dan Jancevski (2004-05), Dan Smith (2005-06), Dan Jancevski (2006-07), Jean-Philippe Cote (2007-08).

The Swiss Chalet Top Rookie Award (As voted by the Hamilton Bulldogs Radio Broadcast Team): David Desharnais, Ben Maxwell and Yannick Weber.

Previous winners: Yann Danis (2004-05), Marc-Antoine Pouliot (2005-06), Jaroslav Halak (2006-07), Pavel Valentenko (2007-08).

The Hamilton Entertainment and Convention Facilities Inc. Community Leadership Award (As voted on by the staff of the Hamilton Bulldogs Hockey Club): Ben Maxwell.

Previous winners: Jeff Daw (1998-99), Mike Minard (1999-00), Ryan Risidore (2000-01), Alain Nasreddine (2001-02), Jason Ward (2003-03), Duncan Milroy (2003-04), Duncan Milroy (2004-05), Corey Locke (2005-06), Corey Locke (2006-07), Ajay Baines (2007-08).

The Bill Sturrup Trophy (Formerly the Hamilton Bulldogs Fans’ Choice Award) as voted on by The Growl – the Hamilton Bulldogs’ Booster Club: Kyle Chipchura.

Previous winners: Chris Ferraro (1998-99), Mike Minard (1999-00), Jason Chimera (2000-01), Brian Swanson (2001-02), Marc-Andre Bergeron (2002-03), Duncan Milroy (2003-04), Corey Locke (2004-05), J.J. Hunter, Jean-Francois Jacques (2005-06), Duncan Milroy (2006-07), Ajay Baines (2007-08).

The Molson Cup (As voted by the media at each game throughout the season, reflecting the Three Stars of the Game): Marc Denis.

Previous winners: Steve Passmore (1998-99), Daniel Cleary (1999-00), Paul Healey (2000-01), Brian Swanson (2001-02), Jason Ward (2002-03), Jozef Balej (2003-04), Yann Danis (2004-05), Jean-Francois Jacques (2005-06), Duncan Milroy (2006-07), Corey Locke (2007-08).

The Flamboro Downs Workhorse of the Year: (Hardest Working Bulldogs Player as voted by the local media at each home game and by the Hamilton Bulldogs Radio Broadcast Team after each road game throughout the season): David Desharnais.

Previous winners: Steve Potvin (1998-99), Brian Swanson (1999-00), Chad Hinz (2000-01), Jason Chimera (2001-02), Tony Salmelainen & Jarret Stoll (2002-03), Jozef Balej (2003-04), Steve Ott (2004-05), Maxim Lapierre (2005-06), Kyle Chipchura (2006-07), Jonathan Ferland (2007-08).

The Bulldogs begin the playoffs on Friday (April 17) when they welcome the Grand Rapids Griffins to Copps Coliseum for a 7:30 p.m. game.