Mohawk looking for former champion soccer players

mountaineersThe Mohawk College Athletic Department will, for the first time, recognize a team as part of this year’s Mountaineer Hall of Fame Inductions. Mohawk will honour the 1970 men’s soccer team on Friday, June 5, at the Fennell Campus.

The 1970 Mountaineers completed an undefeated season en route to the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association men’s soccer title. The following members of the championship side have confirmed their attendance: Bill Agoston, John Bucalo, Joe Lacko, Tony Iacozza, Ardo Perri, and Dominic Zeffiro, as well as assistant Gerry Dunsford.

And the search is on for the rest of the team: Albert Anderson, Cesare Cagnin, Mitchell Kozbur, Bob MacKechnie, Richard Moody, Frank Mrezar, and John Rekiel, as well as assistant C. Dickson and manager J. Mechke. If you know where any of the remaining team can be located, Mohawk asks that you contact Bernetta Scime in the Mohawk Athletic Department at 905-575-2004.

The names of this year’s Mohawk Mountaineer Hall of Fame Inductees will be announced May 26.