Hamilton badminton club crowns champions

badmintonOne of the longest running club championships in the city held its annual tournament recently. Champions were declared in several divisions of play for the Hamilton and District Badminton Association’s season finale. The club has been in operation since 1930.

The finals were played at McMaster University.

In the Men’s Singles A division, Koda Kouk, of Hamilton’s Baddy Squad, was a 15-21, 21-10, 21-17 winner over Chris Hong of the LB Pearson Badminton Club in Burlington. The Women’s Singles A flight champion was Margaret Myjak of Hamilton’s Central Memorial BC. She defeated Kelly Evoy of the Grimsby BC, 22-20, 21-15.

Taking the Men’s Single B crown was Pearson’s Razwan Khawaja who was a 21-17, 15-21, 21-19 set victor over Jack Wang of Memorial. The Women’s Singles B title was shared by Ivana Camposilvan of Hamilton’s St. Thomas More High School and Agustina Jorquera of Ancaster’s Bishop Tonnos HS. The Baddy Squad’s Vincent Wu took the Men’s Singles C section, defeating McMaster’s Abdullah Khan 21-9, 21-11. The Women’s section went to Alex Pinheiro of Burlington’s Notre Dame HS. She defeated Jenna Frank of Hamilton Bishop Ryan HS, 21-12, 25-23.

In Single Men’s D division play, Kyle Berdan of St. Thomas More was a 21-17, 21-16 winner over Majedul Islam of the Baddy Club. Taking the Women’s section was Katherine Mahler, St. Thomas More, with a 21-17, 21-10 win over Julie Looy of Cathedral HS.

The Men’s Double A crown was won by Hamilton’s Chris Cook and John Mullin, 17-21, 21-18, 21-11, victors over the Hagersville BC’s John Bourbeau and Jordan Hearn. The Women’s Doubles A banner went to Danitra Maharaj, of Burlington Central BC, and Hileree Valade, of Pearson. They defeated Myjak and Evoy, 21-17, 16-21, 21-16.

Co-champions were crowned in the Men’s Double B flight with Baddy members Di Wu and Vincent Wu sharing honours with McMaster’s Scott Hopkin and Shumon Nazim. Mac’s Katalina Chan and Juliana Wu were Women’s Doubles B section champions, defeating club mates Maryyam Fatima and Helen Ren, 21-13, 21-11.

In Men’s Doubles C play, Pantho Datta and Majedul Islam of the Babby club, defeated Jills Johnny and Brandon MacKay of Notre Dame HS, 21-13, 20-22, 21-17. The Women’s champions were Joyce Lee Eng and Simin Paiyendah of Hamilton’s Sir John A. MacDonald HS, 21-13, 21-11, victors over Agatha Kiwakowski and Kaitlin Zundl, of Notre Dame.

D Double champions on the men’s side were Bishop Ryan HS’s duo of Thomas and Tony Leite, who turned back Cathedral HS’s Phil Ho and Bart Jedrzejewski, 21-14, 21-17. Taking the women’s title by default were Jessica Krizmanic and Natasha Valconi of Bishop Ryan, over Joanne Aswani and Victoria Frisina of St. Thomas More.

The Mixed Doubles A flight was taken by Grimsby’s Evoy and McMaster’s Dylan Lahey, 21-11, 22-14, over Sary Say, of the Baddy’s and Alex Duong of Cathedral, 21-13, 12-21, 21-15. Co=champions were declared in the Mixed B section with Fatima and Nazim sharing the honour with McMaster’s Allison Bennett and Hopkin.

MacDonald’s Paiyendah and the Baddy’s Benjamin Yong took C flight honours with a 21-11, 24-22, win over Grimsby club mates Kathleen Manson and Gary Verkade. The Mixed D champions were Cathedral’s Jessica Nguyen and Baddy Michael Nguyen, 21-14, 17-21, 21-12, over Burlington Central club mates Tricia McDougall and Scott Collins.

Cathedral took the High School Participation trophy with Burlington Notre Dame second and More third. Other high schools competing included Bishop Ryan McDonald HS, Sir Winston Churchill (Hamilton), Christ The King (Georgetown), Blessed Trinity (Grimsby), White Oakes (Oakville), Waterdown, Bishop Tonnos, Ancaster High, and Sherwood (Hamilton).