Cooper finishes 10-pin season on a roll

The City Tenpin League’s top team, in the loop’s 106th season, is the “Brantford Boys”. Finishing second was “NTS” and “Mikes Subs” was third.

In his return to bowling after a couple of seasons off, Tim Enoksen captured high average at 220 and high single with his fourth perfect 300 game. Mike Ricker claimed high triple at 779 and second high single with his near perfect 299.

Mick Anderer had a pair of seconds with an average at 216 and a triple at 760. Matt Cooper was also a double winner in B division with his 716 triple and 279 single.

Most improved was Cooper going from 176 to 194. Enoksen topped the 10 members of the 700 club with seven, and a high of 755. Anderer was close with six and Ricker had three.

Randy Bukowski, 212 average, recorded 26 triples in the 600s and a 701 in just 30 weeks. Enoksen also topped the 250 club with 15 along with his 300 while Ricker had nine and Jamie Gamble, one of the Brantford Boys, had six.

It took a one-game roll off to decide the top team in the V.S.L. at Skyway Lanes as Mo’s Morons (Derek Hannah, Maureen and Brian Cooper) beat Steel City Slickers (Don Fraser, Roger and Barb Roy) 520 to 485.

The high averages went to Ed Margueratt with his 199 and Jen Olmsted at 181. Last season Mike Ellis tallied a 300 on the last night of the season. This season Derek Hannah almost matched it with the first 10 strikes for a 287 and high single.

Ed Margueratt’s fifth career 700, a 719, captured high triple and Jen Olmsted tripped a 676 triple and 264 single. Since bowlers may win only one award, the banquet awards winners for high triple were Hannah, 695, and Lesley Ledger, 578, and high single Ron Olmsted, 227, and Joan Tidey, 206.

Most improved averages were Ed Margueratt 192 to 199 and Olmsted, 176 to 181.

The top team in Skyway Westinghouse action was the Choppers with Doug and Carole Stickney, Wendell Harrison and Alaine and Dwight Young. They beat Mike Sydor, Joe Borkovic, Art Oliver Sr. and Jim and Edward Margueratt in a one-game roll off. Individual winners were Nobby Herchenroder, 205 average; Chris Marquette, 710 triple; and Matt Ashley, 269 single. Other 700s were John Burke 703 and Harrison 701.

At Prime Time Bowling, the Revolutions Juniors saw a triple winner as Kyle Gilmour scored a 184 average, 703 triple and 259 single. For the girls, Jennifer Lewis tripped a 182 average, 650 triple and 265 single while Sam Cowan tallied a 661 triple and 247 single.

Kellie Dalton dealt a 632 triple and 241 single. Most improved were Jen Lewis, 156 to 182, and Graeme Gilmour, 115 to 141.

TENPIN TRIVIA: Last year, perfect 300 games were bowled by a 77-year-old legally blind bowler in Iowa and by a 16-year-old with shorter than normal arms in Florida.