Eisho comes away winner despite ’Canes setback

For the second straight year, Hamilton Hurricanes’ Aram Eisho has been selected as the Ontario Football Conference’s Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

Eisho, a linebacker, was chosen by the OFC’s coaches on the weekend when the six-team junior league completed regular season play. Eisho, who was last year’s Canadian Junior Football League Defensive Player of the Year, and his teammates finished in second place, despite a 24-13 loss to the AKO Fratmen in Windsor. The Hurricanes will be home to the third-place St. Leonard Cougars, who mauled the Burlington Braves 52-7.

The Hamilton-St. Leonard semi-final game has a 4 p.m. kickoff at Ivor Wynne Stadium.

Windsor will miss the OFC playoffs for the first in 33 years.

The other semi-final will see the fourth-place London Beefeaters travelling to Ottawa to play the first-place Sooners. Ottawa returned to the OFC this season after an absence of 14 years. The two teams completed their schedules against each other on the weekend, with Ottawa escaping with a narrow 7-6 win.

Ottawa’s TD was scored by Corey Armstrong after he fell on a Beefs fumble deep in the end zone after a missed Sooners’ field goal attempt. London scored on two Zack Medeiros field goals.

The St. Leonard Cougars recovered from an early 7-0 Burlington Braves lead to win 52-7, securing third place. Cougars’ kicker Scott Leblanc amassed 22 points on 6 field goals and 4 converts.

In addition to his defensive player of the year award, Eisho was also selected to the all-star team. In the league’s scoring system, Eisho topped all defensive players.

Joining him as a returnee to the all-star squad was teammate and offensive lineman Andrew Lobsinger.

Other individual awards announced included Windsor quarterback Ricky Simons as the Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year, and London’s Brad Winder as Coach of the Year. He will be the OFC’s nominee for the CJFL’s Gord Currie coach of the year award;

Burlington Braves’ Adam Grilj is the league’s Defensive Rookie of Year and the Bill Brest Community Service Award went to the Hurricanes John Tenbrinke.

Hamilton receiver Travis Steeves was an all-star on the offensive team. He led all receivers with 655 catching yards. The Braves’ Chadwin Bartley led kickoff returners with 271 yards.