Nominations for Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year sought

She or he is out there. Somewhere. And you might have an idea of who it could be.

Yes, it’s time to select the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year for 2009. The committee which administers this prestigious award, named in honour of the late Bill Sturrup and sponsored by The Spectator, would like the public’s input and is now accepting nominations.

The winner will be announced at the CYO Celebrity Dinner on Thursday, Feb. 25 at the Hamilton Convention Centre.

Past winners of the award include swimmer Joanne Malar in 1995, 1999 and 2000, cyclist Clara Hughes in 1996, middle distance runner Graham Hood in 1997, basketball player Titus Channer in 1998, paddler Mark Oldershaw in 2001, cyclist Sue Palmer-Komar in 2002, rower Joe Stankevicius in 2003, McMaster running back Jesse Lumsden in 2004, Hamilton Bulldog defenseman Danny Syvret in 2005, basketball player Shona Thorburn in 2006, golfer Alena Sharp in 2007 and Paralympic swimmer Chelsey Gotell in 2008.

The award criteria stipulate that a candidate must be a resident of the City of Hamilton or Burlington, or have been a resident for a significant period of time. Candidates may be a professional or amateur athlete who has demonstrated superior athletic performances at the provincial, national or international level. The athlete’s performance could be as an individual or as part of a team.

The award will be one award and may be won by a male or female. There is no age restriction.

All nominations must be submitted on-line through the Hamilton Spectator web site at and click on Athlete of the Year. Deadline for nominations is Dec. 31. For information on the CYO Celebrity dinner, contact Mel Leggat at 905-528-0011, ext. 3608.