Two ‘Dogs named to Canadian AHL All-Star Team

The American Hockey League announced today that Hamilton Bulldogs goaltender Cedrick Desjardins and defenceman P.K. Subban have been named to the 2010 Canadian AHL All-Star team, with Subban being voted as a starter for the team. AHL fans determined the starting lineups via on-line balloting at, while a committee of AHL coaches selected the remainder of the roster.

Desjardins, 24, has a record of 11-4-1 in 17 games this season while currently ranking second in the AHL in goals-against-average with a 1.55, third in save percentage with 0.939 and first in shutouts with five. The native of Edmundston, New Brunswick completed his rookie season with the ‘Dogs in 2008-2009 posting a record of 16-12-0 in 30 games while registering a 2.55 goals-against-average, 0.919 save percentage and recording four shutouts. The 6-foot, 194-pound goaltender won the 2008 Kelly Cup Championship with the Cincinnati Cyclones while being named the Most Valuable Player of the Kelly Cup playoffs.

Subban, 20, leads all ‘Dogs defencemen and ranks third among rookie AHL defencemen in points with 20 (seven goals, 13 assists) in the 32 games the rookie defender has played with the club. The native of Toronto, Ontario has scored four of his seven goals on the power play and is tied for the overall AHL lead with a plus-17 rating. The 6-foot, 206-pound blueliner won the gold medal with Team Canada at the 2008 and 2009 World Junior Championships. Subban was drafted by the Montreal Canadiens in the 2nd round, 43rd overall in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.

For the rest of the 2010 Canadian AHL All-Star team’s roster, or for more information, visit

The 2010 Time Warner Cable AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top talent in the American Hockey League competing in the 2010 AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Monday, January 18 (8:00 p.m. ET), and the 2010 AHL All-Star Game on Tuesday, January 19 (6:00 p.m. ET). The events will be televised nationally in the United States and Canada.