Mountaineers Hall of Fame adds new members

mountaineersThree individual athletes, a team, and a builder held the spotlight last night at Mohawk College.

The light opened the door into the Mountaineer Hall of Fame for Steve Case, Terry Macklin, Sue Volcansek (Davies), the 1970-71 men’s basketball team, and the late Barbara Moore during Mohawk’s 16th induction ceremony at the Fennell Campus gymnasium.

Case, a former Ontario Colleges Athletic Association Cross Country Champion, was a strong, powerful runner whose physical stature resembled a football fullback. That strength and endurance allowed Case to anchor our men’s cross country team during Mohawk’s historic domination of the OCAA running championships in the mid-1980s.

Case won back-to-back individual provincial gold medals in 1985 and ’86 and subsequently led the men’s team to an OCAA gold medal in 1986.

Case was also named Team MVP in 1986 at Mohawk’s athletic banquet that year.

Macklin was a gifted all round participant and champion in the early years of Mohawk’s athletics, as the college transitioned from Hamilton Institute (HIT) to Mohawk. He was a member of both the gold medal men’s basketball and golf teams in 1967-68, the first year of Ontario college championships.

Macklin also participated and led his class in many Intramural sports and was also selected to represent the students on the Athletic Directorate, the early beginning of Mohawk’s Students’ Athletics Committee (SAC).

Volcansek (Davies) was a fiery, competitive leader of the women’s volleyball teams during her three-year career, as she drove herself and teammates to great heights.

She was a two-time Mohawk Team MVP, OCAA League and Championship Tournament All-Star, from 1990-92. She led the Mountaineers to an OCAA silver medal and was named Championship Tournament MVP in 1992.

She was also named Mountaineer Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year in 1992.

Moore worked as an administrative assistant in athletics and student life at Mohawk for more than 20 years. In addition to being the consummate professional in her actual job, the builder inductee was a warm, compassionate and dedicated supporter to everyone she met.

Moore sacrificed endless personal time as a secretary for the Students’ Athletics Committee. In recognition of her dedication, Mohawk presents the Barb Moore Spirit Award at its annual banquet. The award is emblematic of Moore’s great gifts as a person and friend.

The 1970-71 undefeated men’s basketball team may be the greatest court team ever assembled at Mohawk. The Mountaineers captured the OCAA in convincing fashion, capping an undefeated season, winning the gold medal game 105-60.

The team not only swept the college competition, it also fashioned wins over Brock, Guelph and Ryerson universities, by an average score of 16 points. Five of the members of this team – players Dewitt Hanna and Henry Romanowski, coaches Wes Hicks and Dave Bartolotta, and trainer Ray Jones, were already inducted into the Mountaineer Hall of Fame.