It’s official: Heaslip going to Ringette Canada Hall of Fame

Stoney Creek resident Bruce Heaslip is one of seven individuals and two teams to be inducted into Ringette Canada’s Hall of Fame. Heaslip began his involvement with ringette in 1970 as an on-ice official in Hamilton. He dedicated many years to officiating including being the Referee in Chief for the Hamilton Ringette Association.

He became well known as a successful course conductor and master instructor – training both on-ice officials and course conductors across Ontario and Canada. He was also an on-ice official at the first three Canadian ringette championships and attained the highest level of ringette officiating available at the time. Heaslip was a supervisor of officials at nationals for the three years following that.

One of Bruce’s notable achievements along with Bruce Kettles, Jim Benning and Doug MacQuarrie, on behalf of ringette officials across Canada, was the inception and development of the Officials’ Evaluation Program. Heaslip contributed to the development of the officials’ evaluation form, performance indicators, and key deliverables in the program – many of which are still used today.

Also inducted with Heaslip were Wes Clark (Portland, ON), Don Sally (Winnipeg) and Rene Trumpler (Gloucester, ON) in the builder category; Steve Blacklock (Guelph), Norm Laforest (St-Basile-le-Grand, QC) and Mark Renkiewicz (Bowmanville, ON) in the officiating category; and the 1996 and 2002 world ringette championship teams.

The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, June 12 at the Ringette Canada AGM being held in Cambridge, Ont.

The Ringette Canada Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding contributions to the development of the sport of ringette and the outstanding achievements of ringette athletes, coaches, officials and administrators across Canada.

“The level of success that our sport achieves is a direct result of the hard work and dedication of a range of individuals across the country,” said Jim Dawson, Ringette Canada president. “From the 1996 and 2002 teams to Steve, Norm and Mark on the officiating front, to Wes, Bruce, Don and Rene in the builder category, it gives me great pleasure to be able to recognize these well-deserving individuals with an induction into our Hall of Fame.”