Habs trim roster, send 16 players to Bulldogs

200px-hamilton_bulldogsThe National Hockey League’s Montreal Canadiens have assigned 16 players to their American Hockey League affiliate, the Hamilton Bulldogs. The Canadiens also announced that forward Louis Leblanc (Montreal – QMJHL) and defenceman Jarred Tinordi (London – OHL) have been returned to their respective junior teams.

Of the 16 players sent to Hamilton, seven played for the Bulldogs last season including goaltender Robert Mayer, defenceman Frederic St-Denis and forwards Andrew Conboy, Olivier Fortier, Dany Masse, Aaron Palushaj, and J.T. Wyman. The remaining nine players assigned to Hamilton are defencemen Sebastien Bisaillon, Marc-Antoine Desnoyers, Kyle Klubertanz, Brendon Nash, Neil Petruic, David Urquhart and forwards Alexander Avtsin, Jimmy Bonneau and Ian Shultz.

Thirty-six players remain at Montreal’s training camp, including four goaltenders, 11 defencemen and 21 forwards. Injured players at camp include goaltender Curtis Sanford (lower body), defencemen Roman Hamrlik (knee), Andrei Markov (knee) and forwards Hunter Bishop (upper body), Max Pacioretty (upper body) and Ryan Russell (lower body).

The Bulldogs season gets underway with their first pre-season game at 6 p.m. EST on Thursday (Sept. 30) against the Binghamton Senators in Corner Brook, Newfoundland. The ‘Dogs will host the Senators for two more pre-season games in Newfoundland on Saturday, Oct. 2 at 12:30 p.m. EST in Grand Falls-Windsor, and the following day at 12:30 p.m. EST in St. John’s. All three games can be heard live on AM 820 CHAM.

Hamilton opens its 15th AHL season on Friday, Oct. 15 at 7:35 p.m. when the Bulldogs travel to Rochester to battle the Americans. The Bulldogs home opener at Copps Coliseum is set for Saturday, Oct. 16t at 4 p.m. against the Toronto Marlies. All regular season Bulldogs broadcasts on 820 CHAM will begin with a pre-game show 30 minutes prior to the scheduled start time.