’Canes advance, Braves stalled in junior football

ofcThe Teddy Morris Memorial Trophy will be presented next Sunday (Oct. 24) to the Ontario Football Conference champion at Hamilton’s Ivor Wynne Stadium.

The finalists are the defending OFC champion Ottawa Sooners and the host Hamilton Hurricanes.

Both teams finished the regular season with 5-3 records. Their only meeting resulted in a ‘Canes 40-17 home victory.

Saturday afternoon the Hurricanes defeated the visiting St Leonard Cougars 20-9 to earn the berth in Sunday’s final. Later in the evening the Sooners came from behind to defeat the first place Braves 31-21 at Burlington’s Corpus Christi high school.

Rushing for 74 yards on 11 carries and catching four balls for another 40 yards, Troy Croonen was the offensive leader for Hamilton. His running mate, Ryan Rowe, carried 13 times for 67 yards.

Three time OFC defensive player of the year Aram Eisho was a force with 21 defensive points.

Sooners’ quarterback Yannick Rickli threw a TD pass to Corey Armstrong and ran in another leading Ottawa to their second consecutive OFC final.

OFC All Star QB Jason Bertrand threw touchdown passes to Braves’ receivers Jay Diston, Jake Pearsall and Brendan McGuigan in the first half, all were converted by Diston.

Game time next Sunday is 4 p.m.

The OFC champion will travel to meet the British Columbia Football Conference champion for the Intergold Cup (CJFL Semi Final). The winner will meet the Prairie Football Conference champion Saturday, Nov. 13 at the home of the PFC champion.