Harrison scores with community contributions

Burlington’s Brittany Harrison has been recognized by Ontario University Athletics for her efforts off the soccer pitch.

While announciing its East Division women’s soccer all-stars and major award winners, Harrison received the community service award. The award is presented to the player who made the greatest contribution to their community through various efforts.

Harrison was Ottawa’s 2009 Presidents award winner for Community-Athletic-Academic Excellence.

The Ottawa Gee Gees player spent last summer volunteering in Belize doing medical volunteer work. In 2009, the Health Sciences major volunteered in the Dominican Republic alternating days of construction work and running summer camps for local children.

Harrison has also volunteered her time around the GTA including at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, the
Partnership West Food Bank in Burlington, and Joseph Brant Memorial Hospital in Burlington in the orthopedic surgery ward.

Queen’s and Ottawa battled for the No. 1 spot in the East all season and Queen’s prevailed. The Gaels and Gee-Gees, now ranked nationally at No. 1 and No. 6 respectively, have proven the depth in their rosters with five All-Stars each.

The most valuable player award goes to Jacqueline Tessier (Peterborough) of the Queen’s Gaels. This superstar forward leads the entire country in goals scored this season with 18 and was named a First-Team All-Star for the first time in her career. The second-year was a sensation in the league this season and scored the overtime goal to advance Queen’s to the OUA Final Four.

The T. Litizen rookie of the year award goes to Lili Wong (Nepean) of the Ottawa Gee-Gees. The first-year was tied for third in league scoring with nine goals in the regular season and helped the Gee-Gees gain national rankings. The rookie was also named a First-Team All-Star.

Dave McDowell of the Queen’s Gaels earns the coach of the year award. This is the second year in a row that McDowell has won the award. Last season he lead the Gaels to a OUA championship final and looks to do it again in the 2010 season after finishing with a commendable 14-2 record.

For the Gaels, joining Tessier on the First-Team All-Stars is co-captain Kelli Chamberlain (North Bay). This fourth-year forward scored ten goals this season, good for second place in Ontario. Midfielders Jennifer Hutchinson (St. John’s, NL) and co-captain Brienna Shaw (Vancouver) were also on the list.

This is Shaw’s third consecutive year being named a First-Team All-Star. Making the Second-Team All-Star list for the Gaels is defender Mikyla Kay (West Vancouver, B.C.).

Ottawa also boasts five All-Stars for the 2010 season. Wong was named a First-Team All-Star along with defenders Gillian Baggot (Ottawa), formerly named a Second-Team All-Star last season and Laurel Fougere (Halifax). Gee-Gee forward Christine Hardie (Pictou, N.S.) scored six goals this season and was named a Second-Team All-Star along with teammate Elise Desjardins (Cumberland).

The Toronto Varsity Blues names four All-Stars to their team this year. Defender Jenessa Banwell (Scarborough) was named a First-Team All-Star in her career. The fifth-year was formerly named a Second-Team All-Star and was a key to Toronto’s defensive structure. Toronto also named goalkeeper Kat Vulic (Oakville) a Second-Team All-Star. Along with Vulic, defender Alicia Lashley (Ottawa) and midfielder Kate Crowley (London) are honoured.

First-Team All-Star goalkeeper goes to Rachel Bedek (St. Thomas). The second-year was named an All-Star for the first time in her career. The Ravens also name midfielder Amanda Ngwafusi (Ottawa) a First-Team All-Star this fourth-year veteran tallied eight goals this season. Teammate Shayla LaVecchia (Ottawa) scored six goals this year and was named a Second-Team All-Star.

The Laurentian Voyageurs late run in the playoffs came thanks to some key players. Forward Lisa Watson (Newmarket) was named a Second-Team All-Star. The three-time All-Star was a defining piece to the Lady Vees offence. Defender Amy Lynn Pitton (Brampton) was also named a Second-Team All-Star.

Nipissing, Ryerson and RMC all added to the All-Star list with one player per team. Lakers forward Leesa Church (North Bay) was named an All-Star for the third time in her career and was tied for third in scoring this season with nine goals. Fourth-year Andrea Raso (Etobicoke) has been named an All-Star every year she has played for the Ryerson Rams and was named a Second-Team All-Star this season. The RMC Paladins boast Laura Gray (Brookside, N.S.) who was named a Second-Team All-Star for the third time in her career.