Marauders raise national field lacrosse championship banner

Kevin MacRory’s (Etobicoke) five goals led the McMaster Marauder men’s lacrosse team to an 11-10 triumph over the Brock Badgers in the Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association’s Baggataway Cup National Championship game on Sunday (Nov. 7).

Carter Williams and Dan Lapanensee both added a goal and two assists apiece for McMaster in the win.

The Marauders won the second Baggataway Cup in program history in front of a near capacity crowd at St. Michael’s College School Stadium in Toronto. McMaster won its first league championship in 1987.

Said Head coach Ed Comeau after the game: “We thought we had been playing real well the last six weeks. We thought we had a chance to get it done. Brock is a good team, they have been a champion for a lot of years for a reason. We are happy to get a big win, it is great for our program.”

The Badgers were constantly trying to catch up during the championship game, as McMaster led 7-3 at halftime and 9-8 by the end of the third quarter.

MacRory was named the McMaster player of the game.

“Kevin MacRory seems to have a knack for scoring big goals for us. He has done it every year he has been here. He is a true finisher. He played great, but we got great efforts from so many of our guys,” said Comeau.

McMaster goalie Joseph Tallis (Nepean) was named the CUFLA National Championship tournament MVP.

“Joe Tallis was awesome and he has been awesome all year. When you have a goalie back there that you are confident in to make a save it makes a big difference to your defence,” said Comeau.

Comeau won a championship as a player in 1987.

“It has been a long time but I have one as a player and a coach now. I am happy to be part of this. I am real proud of our team. A great group of guys who believed in what we did and worked hard to get it done,” commented Comeau.

Kyle Kropman (Ajax) was selected as the Badgers’ player of the game.