Bulldogs lose to IceHogs in overtime

The Hamilton Bulldogs were defeated by the Rockford IceHogs 4-3 in overtime on Friday night. Nigel Dawes and Andreas Engqvist scored third period goals for Hamilton to send the game to overtime but Jeff Taffe score the winner in the extra frame.

The Bulldogs opened the scoring at 5:52 of the first period. Alex Henry sent the puck to the right point where Neil Petruic was positioned. Petruic blasted a shot towards the net that beat Rockford starting goaltender Hannu Toivonen.

The IceHogs tied the game 1-1 at 7:30 of the second stanza. Kyle Hagel received the puck from Evan Brophey before sending a shot towards the net. Igor Makarov tapped the puck past Hamilton starting goaltender Drew MacIntyre. Rockford took a 2-1 lead at 18:53. Jeff Taffe sent the puck to Rob Klinkhammer, who was at the right side of the net. Klinkhammer snapped a shot past the blocker of MacIntyre and into the net.

Brophey gave the IceHogs a 3-1 lead with a shorthanded marker at 3:58 of the final frame. Makarov collected the puck behind the Hamilton net before feeding the puck to Brophey, who was in the slot. Brophey one-timed a shot past MacIntyre’s glove.

Hamilton made the game 3-2 at 14:09 of the third frame. Engqvist sent the puck to Frederic St. Denis, who was stationed at the left point. St. Denis fired a shot on net that was redirected by Dawes and sailed past Toivonen. Engqvist tied the game 43 seconds later. Dustin Boyd fired a shot on net that was stopped by Toivonen. Engqvist batted the loose rebound past Toivonen and into the net.

The IceHogs scored the overtime game-winning goal at 1:46 of the extra frame. Peter LeBlanc dished the puck to Jeff Taffe, who used a forehand-to-backhand move before depositing the puck behind MacIntyre.

The Bulldogs will continue their road trip tomorrow night in Chicago for a game against the Wolves at 8:00 p.m. All regular season Hamilton Bulldogs broadcasts on AM 820 CHAM will begin with a pre-game show 30 minutes prior to the scheduled start time.