Mac’s athletic best in the spotlight

McMaster University will host the 87th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony On Monday (April 4) to announce the Most Valuable Players and major award winners from the 2010-11 Ontario University Athletics season.

The awards presentation will take place in the Burridge Gymnasium at 4 p.m. The ceremony will be streamed live on the web site for those unable to attend the affair.

The award nominees include:

The Thérèse Quigley Trophy for Outstanding Female Athlete: Victoria Coates (Cross Country/Track), Jessica Pearo (Cross Country), Larissa Puhach (Volleyball), Sarah Taylor (Swimming) and Natasha Turner (Rugby).

The Ivor Wynne Trophy for Outstanding Male Athlete: Tyler Ardron (Rugby), Cameron Bailey (Swimming), Ryan Blake (Wrestling), Kyle Quinlan (Football), Tyler Santoni (Volleyball).

The Dr. Ray Johnson Award for the graduating male athlete who exemplifies the “Spirit of McMaster’ while showing noteworthy athletic ability: Steve Cecchini (Football), Nathan Cox (Swimming), Mike Irvine (Fencing).

The Edna Guest Award for the graduating female athlete who exemplifies the “Spirit of McMaster’ while showing noteworthy athletic ability: Jessica Pearo (Cross Country), Larissa Puhach (Volleyball), Kaley Veerman (Hockey)

The Mel and Marilyn Hawkrigg Outstanding Rookie Awards for the male and female athletes in their first year of post-secondary eligibility who demonstrate outstanding athletic performance as a varsity team member: Female: Alyshia Anderson (Wrestling), Claire Lockhart (Rugby), Erin MacFadyen (Swimming), Jocelyn Wilkins (Soccer)
Male: Taylor Black (Basketball), Andrew Ferguson (Rugby), Jori Mantha (Volleyball), Ben Stubbs (Swimming).

The Les Prince Award for the student-athlete who best combines leadership with community service through participation in an outreach program: Rich Andrews (Rugby), Kevin McLelland (Wrestling), Hailey Milligan (Basketball), Sara Thompson (Swimming)

The Bruce Cochrane Award for the student who best demonstrates unwavering dedication and service to their team, club, or group. The award is open to any nominee from among athletic support staff, administrative staff, therapy staff, team managers and trainers, and assistant coaches: Jeff Cernelle (Swimming), Ryan Loveday (Football), Osama Naqvi (Rugby), Laura Reitmuller (Football/Wrestling), Dan Russell (Volleyball/Swimming)