Quebec all-stars take mini-series opener

A former member of the London Majors was one of the heroes for Quebec in the opening game of the Ontario/Quebec All-Star Classic baseball series.

Andy St. Gelais threw three shutout innings and the all-star team from the Ligue de Baseball Senior Elite du Quebec went on to rout the Intercounty All-Stars 6-0 in the first game of a two-game series Saturday night (June 25) in Sherbrooke, Quebec.

Game two in the special two-game series was scheduled for Sunday at 1:05 p.m., also at the Stade Amedee Roy in Sherbrooke.

St. Gelais dominated his former league teammates by starting and striking out five of the six hitters he faced without allowing a hit. The LBSEQ All-Stars staked him to an early 4-0 lead after three innings and never relinquished that advantage to cruise to the easy win.

Poor weather conditions early in the day forced the cancellation of the scheduled oldtimers game and resulted in a delay in the starting of the actual game. But St. Gelais, who is reportedly considering a return to the IBL before the season ends, held the Ontario bats in check easily once the festivities got going.

The rest of the Quebec pitching staff was also dominant, holding the IBL All-Stars to just three hits and adding to the lead in the final few innings. Steve Dube of Trois-Rivieres also tossed three shutout innings in relief of St. Gelais.

A couple of players from the host Sherbrooke Expos helped led the Quebec offence, as Kyle Gerhart drove in a pair of runs and Eddie Lantigua also had an RBI for the winners.

Mike Martinow of the Hamilton Thunderbirds was the starter and loser for the IBL. He allowed four runs in three innings – all unearned – as the IBL made three costly errors.

Brian Sewell of the Burlington Twins, Brandon Dhue of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Chris Romano of the Barrie Baycats all had doubles to account for the three IBL hits in the game.

After the game the LBSEQ organizers finished up with an impressive fireworks display to complete the evening. Sunday’s game was to include a home run derby. The winning team will receive a championship trophy after the games are completed.

Last year the teams played four games, two in Ottawa and two in Quebec, with the IBL All-Stars narrowly winning the series on total runs scored after the four games were split.