Marauder is best rookie in OUA volleyball

McMaster middle hitter Alex Elliott (Cobourg) was named this year’s Ontario University Athletics Rookie of the Year in the men’s volleyball.

Elliott had a solid season on both the offensive and defensive side of the ball, registering 59 kills while committing just 15 errors all season. He was also involved in 32 blocks to help the Marauders wrap up second place in the standings and earn a national ranking for much of the season. Elliott has also been named to the OUA All-Rookie team.

Joining Elliott on the OUA All-Rookie team is McMaster teammate Daniel Groenveld (Welland). The first-year outside hitter tallied 84 kills and 98 points in 37 games for the Marauders.

The Marauders took most of the Second-Team of All-Star spots with three athletes earning recognition. A former three-time First-Team All-Star, Jeremy Groenveld (Welland) lands on this year’s Second-Team. The fifth-year senior helped a relatively young team to a second place finish and scored 138 points for the Marauders. Kevin Stevens (Winnipeg) earns his first all-star appearance on the strength of 124 kills this year while teammate Jori Mantha (Vanier) led the team with 176 points.

Other major award included:

Player of the Year: Joren Zeeman, Queen’s.
Libero of the Year: Niko Rukavina, Queen’s.
Dale Iwanoczko Award: Karim Khalil, York.
Coach of the Year: Jim Sage, Western.

First-Team All-stars: Joren Zeeman, Queen’s; Phil James, Western; Kyle Williamson, Windsor; Garrett May, Western; Fiodar Kazhamiaka, Waterloo; Winston Rosser, Guelph; and Matt Poulin, Western.

Second-Team All-stars: Michael Amoroso, Queen’s; Cameron Wheelan, Waterloo; Niko Rukavina, Queen’s; and Matt Waite, Western.

All-Rookie Team: Erich Woolley, Waterloo; Alex Dawson, Ryerson; Trevor Grant, Toronto; Steven Khuu, Toronto; and Marko Dakic, York.