Willsie caps season with three team awards

Two Bulldogs shared as the team’s Most Valuable Player, one of eight honours given out Sunday (April 15) at the conclusion of the Bulldogs American Hockey league season.

Brian Willsie and Andreas Engqvist, who finished one-two in the Bulldogs team scoring race, were chosen by their teammates as the MVPs.

The Molson Cup Award, which recognizes three star selections at home games and is made by attending media, goes to Aaron Palushaj.

The Bill Sturrup Trophy went to Palushaj. The selection is made by the fanclub group, The Growl.

The Top Defenceman Award, also selected by attending media, was won by Frederic St-Denis. He had 28 points (three goals, 25 assists) in 58 games played.

Walking away with the Flamboro Downs Workhorse of the Year Award, another media choice, was Willsie. He led the team with eight Workhorse of the Game titles during the season.

The North American Van Lines Man of the Year Award, which is chosen by the team’s front office staff, went to Hunter Bishop and Brendon Nash. The duo made more than 50 community appearances during the season.

The Swiss Chalet Top Rookie Award was presented to Louis Leblanc, who had 22 points (11 goals and assists) in 31 games played. The selection is made by the Hamilton Bulldogs Radio Network Broadcast Team.

The Andlauer Transportation Services Hamilton Bulldogs Leading Scorer Award was won by Willsie who had 44 points from 18 goals and 26 assists) in 68 games.