Hamilton Cardinals games get radio, cable play


The Hamilton Cardinals will hit the airways this season.

The senior Intercounty Baseball League team will have select games broadcast by Mohawk College’s radio station, INDI 101 FM, and Hamilton’s community channel, Cable 14.

INDI 101 FM returns for a third season of Cardinals baseball and for the second straight season they will broadcast all Friday night home games starting on May 18 when the Cardinals host the Burlington Twins.

This year will see a new team of Mohawk College Radio Broadcasting and Journalism students working the broadcast with Mohawk Radio graduate Reed Duthie providing the play-by-play in the broadcast booth. Cable 14 will broadcast four Cardinals home games as well as four road games. The home games will be broadcast on a next-day tape delay and will feature a simulcast of the radio broadcast.

The first simulcast will be the Friday, May 18 game against the Twins. Cable 14 will air it the next day at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. as well as Sunday May 20 at noon.

The first road game broadcast will feature the opening day game when the Cardinals travel to Burlington to face the Twins. It will be taped on Saturday, May 12 and aired on Monday, May 14 at noon. Two more road games will be run on a next-day tape delay along with a live game on Sunday, July 1 when Hamilton visits Christie Pitts in Toronto.

Other broadcast games are: Friday, May 25, 7:30 p.m. vs. Toronto Maple Leafs, INDI 101 FM; Friday, June 1, 7:30 p.m. vs. Kitchener Panthers, INDI 101 FM; Friday, June 8, 7:30 p.m. vs. London Majors, INDI 101 FM and Cable 14, June 9 at noon and 7 p.m. and June 10 at noon; Saturday, June 9, 2 p.m. at Burlington Twins, Cable 14 (June 10 at 2:00 p.m.); Friday, June 15, 7:30 p.m. vs. Toronto Maple Leafs, INDI 101 FM; Friday, June 22, 7:30 p.m. vs. London Majors, INDI 101 FM and Cable 14 (June 23 at noon and 7 p.m. and June 24 at noon); Friday, June 29, 7:30 p.m. vs. Toronto Maple Leafs, INDI 101 FM; Sunday, July 1, 2 p.m. at Toronto Maple Leafs, Cable 14; Friday, July 13, 7:30 p.m. vs. Ottawa Fat Cats, INDI 101 FM and Cable 14 (July 14 at noon and 7 p.m. and July 1 at noon); Saturday, July 14, 2 p.m. at Burlington Twins, Cable 14 (July 15 at 4 p.m.)

Tickets for all Hamilton Cardinals home games are available at the Bernie Arbour Stadium Box Office on game days. For more information on Cardinals season passes email iblcardinals@bell.net.