Mountaineers’ Hall of Fame welcomes new members

Three soccer stars were among five athletes and a team inducted into the Mohawk Mountaineer Hall of Fame at the college Saturday (June 9).

Two-time Ontario Colleges Athletic Association All-Star Christine Stoneman was a member of the 1998-99 provincial championship soccer squad. She also won OCAA silver and bronze medals during her three years at Mohawk, set a record with seven goals in one game and was named to the OCAA Women’s Soccer All-Millennium Team. Stoneman was the recipient of the prestigious Dr. Sam Mitminger Award for academic and athletic excellence by a graduating player.

Anthony Notarianni, a two time All-Star, led his men’s soccer team to OCAA silver medals in 1990 and 1992. Twice he was named MVP, was selected a Canadian Colleges Athletic Association All-Canadian, while captaining his team and took home Mohawk’s Outstanding Male Athlete Award. Notarianni was named to the OCAA Men’s Soccer All-Millennium Team.

Three time OCAA All-Star men’s soccer player John Sozio was the Mountaineer MVP in 2000 and 2001 and was selected the Outstanding Male Athlete at Mohawk in both of those years. Sozio became Mohawk’s first OCAA Overall Athlete of the Year across all OCAA sports, was a two-time CCAA All-Canadian and was named to the OCAA Men’s Soccer All-Millennium Team.

Golfer Dave Storoschuk won OCAA individual silver medals in 1977 and 1978. He helped Mohawk to a fourth place finish in the team competition the first year, then led the Mountaineers to the gold medal the second year. A two time team MVP, who was also selected Mohawk’s Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year, Storoschuk was named to the OCAA Golf All-Millennium Team.

Rugby star Kevin Bundy had a great debut at Mohawk, as the Mountaineers won the OCAA gold medal his first season in 2000-01. The following year he was the team’s MVP, an OCAA league All-Star and was the Outstanding Male Athlete at the college. In his last season, Bundy was again the team MVP, an OCAA All-Star, OCAA All-Academic and captured the Dr. Sam Mitminger Award.

The 1985-86 Mohawk women’s basketball squad enters the Mountaineer Hall of Fame as a Team of Distinction. After running the table with a perfect 14-0 OCAA regular season, Mohawk won the OCAA championship with a 75-65 win over Fanshawe in the gold medal game. They then became the first Ontario team to win a bronze medal at the CCAA championship. Their lone loss was to eventual champion Dawson College. The Mountaineers, coached by Hall of Famer Earl Begg, were led by OCAA and CCAA All-Star Marcine Blake and OCAA All-Star Claudia DeIulio, who was second in league scoring.

Other members of the team included Theresa Kay, Joanne Laforest, Jalea Filiatrault, Deb Rensen, Michelle Osenenko, Pam Rocca, Lesley Anne Grill, Carolyn Meech and Candy Armstrong and assistant coaches Peter Stoyakovich and Mary Hrycay.