Cayley helps Ontario take lead at national men’s senior championship

John Russell of Chestermere, Alta. and Ian Harris of Bloomfield, Mich. posted opening-round scores of even-par 72 to share the lead through 18 holes at the 2012 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship at Golf Griffon des Sources in Mirabel, Que.

While Russell shot even-par on both the front and back-nine on Tuesday (Aug. 28), Harris produced a far different scorecard, shooting 5-over par 41 to start the day on Nos. 1-9, before posting a score of 5-under par 31 to close out the round on the back-nine.

Colin Coben of Delisle, Sask. sits third at 1-over par 73, while eight players sit locked in a tie for fourth at 3-over par 75, including defending Canadian Men’s Senior champion Chip Lutz of Reading, Pa., and Warren Sye of London, Ont.

Scores for other Golden Horseshoe players included Larry Cooper’s 39, 37 for a 76 which left the Oakville golfer in 12th place. Welland’s Robert Goss is in 33rd place after carding 40 and 38 for a 78. In 66th place is Paul Alexander of Oakville. He shot 41-40 (81). Sharing the No. 82 spot are Ancaster’s Dan Gagliardi (44, 39 – 83) and Burlington’s Bill Simmons (39, 44 – 83).

Sitting at No. 114 is Alasdair Cayley of Burlington with 41, 45 – 86 with Ancaster’s Tim Lee in 146th place with 47, 48 – 95.

In Inter-Provincial Team Championship play, the Team Ontario contingent of Sye, Sandy Billyard of Ridgeville, Ont. and Cayley, posted a combined score of nine-over par 153 to lead both Team Alberta and Team Quebec by one shot heading into the final round of team competition.

Team Alberta’s squad of Frank Van Dornick of Camrose, and Frank MacKenzie and Jeffrey Gauf of Edmonton, and the Team Quebec contingent of Graham Cooke of Hudson, Greg Wilson of Vaudreuil, and Adélard Collin of Quebec City, sit tied for second at 10-over par 154.

Ghislain Bernard of Wentworth-Nord, Que. shot 5-over par 77 to lead the Super Senior Division by two strokes over John Williams of St. John’s, N.L., who carded a round of 7-over par 79. Alexander sits third at 9-over par 81, while Phillip Leckey of Tampa, Fla., Michel Riverin of Brossard, Que. and Ray Stoodley of St. John’s, N.L. are T4 at 12-over par 84.

The 2012 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship winner will earn an exemption into the 2012 USGA Senior Amateur Championship which takes place Sept. 29 – Oct. 4 at Mountain Ridge Country Club in West Caldwell, N.J.