OUA adds four Marauders to all-star team

Four members of the McMaster Marauders men’s rugby team were named to the Ontario University Athletics all-star squad announced on Tuesday (Nov. 6).

McMaster’s quartet of all-stars is led by OUA leading scorer Andrew Ferguson (Mississauga). Ferguson scored eight tries and added 14 converts, four penalty goals and a drop goal for 83 points en route to his third all-star award in as many seasons. Cam Stones (Whitby) becomes an all-star for the second time, while fourth-year players Mike Paris (Barrie) and Ryan Fried (New Hamburg) both received the honour for the first time.

Guelph’s Byron Boville (Barrie) was named the Most Valuable Player. .

The Trillum award honouring the best all-around player in the OUA, the OUA rookie of the year and the Coach of the Year award all went to the Queen’s Gaels. Centre Dan Moor (Toronto) used the form that has made him an OUA all-star in 2010 and 2011, to be named the top all-around player in 2012.

Adam McQueen (Canmore, Alta.)collected 40 points in his freshman season in 2012 to capture the OUA rookie of the year award. The fly half kicked 17 converts, one penalty goal and one drop goal in helping the Gaels to a league-high 364 points scored.

Queen’s head coach Peter Huigenbos is coach of the year for the fourth time in his career after guiding the Gaels to a 7-1 regular season record. Huigenbos previously won the award in 2005, ’08 and ’09.

In addition to his Trillium award, Moor was named an OUA all-star for the third consecutive season. Joining him is wing Graham Turner (Oakville) whose nine tries led the OUA. Fourth-year scrum half Brendan McGovern (Ottawa) rounds out the Gaels backs to be named all-stars. Queen’s also had three forwards earn all-star status, including sophomore hooker Angus McPhail (Vancouver), third-year prop Jacob Rumball (Scarborough) and lock James Dent (Toronto).

The Guelph Gryphons battled their way to a 7-1 record but were given the second seed on a tie-breaker. Guelph was rewarded with five OUA all-stars. MVP Boville earned his first career all-star nod after scoring eight tries and added a convert for 42 points on the year. Fly half Jon West (Scarborough), fourth-year prop Graeme Mahar (Toronto), flanker Nick Walters (Mississauga) and third-year eight-man Robert Paris (Barrie) all joined Boville as all-stars. The award is the second in as many seasons for West.

The Western Mustangs also finished the regular season 7-1, but received the third seed in the playoffs. The Mustangs feature five 2012 all-stars, led by the team’s top scorer Mike Turnbull (Oakville). In his second OUA season, Turnbull scored 41 points on 14 converts, two tries and one penalty goal.

Joining him are fellow sophomore Geoff Wharburton (Pickering), third year players John Humphries (Victoria, B.C.) and James Ojo (Whitby) and Courtney Mendez (Whitby) who is in his first year with the team.

After playing in only four games and registering just three points in 2011, Brock Badgers fly half Zack Lamacraft (Pickering) exploded this season. Lamacraft scored 68 points on 21 converts, seven penalty goals, and one try, to finish second in OUA scoring and leading to the first all-star award of his career. Other Brock Badgers to earn all-star status are junior Ben Thompson (Whitby), sophomore centre Matthew Mufandaedza (Yellowknife, Yukon) and junior prop Brandon Marsden. Thompson becomes a two-time all-star, winning his first award in 2010.

The Waterloo Warriors boast a trio of multiple-time all-stars. Zach Bogdon (Preston), Rich Lebel (Waterloo) and Matteo Schwartzentruber (Pembroke) were all named all-stars in 2012. The award is the fourth for Lebel, third for Bogdon and second for Schwartzentruber.

Lebel was the top scorer for Waterloo this years, registering five tries and five converts for 35 points.

Clarke O’Reilly (Kitchener) led the Royal Military College Paladins in scoring in 2012. His six tries was enough to earn him all-star status for the second time in his career. O’Reilly was also named an all-star in 2010. Riley Saliken (Abbotsford, B.C.) and Brandon Black (Newmarket) were also given recognition as all-stars this season for RMC, the second time for Black and third for Saliken.

Rounding out the list of 2012 OUA all-stars are two players each from Laurier and Toronto. Fifth-year forward Jeff Pickel (St. Mary’s) and teammate Jeff Dinsmore (Waterloo) represent Laurier on the all-star team, while seniors Nader Mohamed (Toronto) and Max Smillie (Kingston) represent the Varsity Blues. The award is the third for Lauier’s Pickel and the second for Toronto’s Mohamed.