Mohawk quartet joins rugby all-stars

Four Mohawk Mountaineers have been named to the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association West division all-star rugby teams.

On the women’s side, second-year fullback Stephanie Draper (Stoney Creek) and second-year flanker Gloria Hernandez (Brantford) made the select squad.

On the men’s side, Jacob Kit (Stoney Creek) and Eric Moyer (Brantford) made the team. Kit is a second-year fullback and Moyer is a third-year Number 8.

Each team in the OCAA nominated two players to the select team.

Also joining the West’s men’s all-star cast are Sheridan Bruins Brett King (Burlington) and James Shanly.

Bruins Sarah Llew-Williams (Kingston) and Shannon Paterson (Mississauga) were chosen for the women’s team along with Seneca’s Katelyn Carey (Burlington)

Other major men’s award winners included Humber third-year fly-half Phil Boone (Brampton) as the men’s rugby player of the year; Trent centre Kevin Blunck (Peterborough) is the East division and overall rookie of the year; Trent’s David McCully overall coach of the year: Humber’s Fabian Rayne is the West coach of the year; Humber’s Jack Smith (Peterborough) is the West rookie of the year; the East scoring champion was Seneca’s Chad Bain (Belleville).

The all-stars are:
Dan Burley and Jeremy Nesbitt, Algonquin; Greg Dawkins and Andrew Harpell, Conestoga; Shane Brisson and Danny Snodden, Fleming; Robin Calamatta and Ben Dorfling, Georgian; Boone and Jason Chuck, Humber; Cam Edwards and Chris Thompson, Loyalist; Kit and Moyer, Mohawk; Pat Franey and Eric Jadowski, St. Lawrence-Kingston; Bain and Jesse Lofthouse, Seneca; King and Shanly, Sheridan; Tim Dineen and Trent Steve Lebrun, Trent.

The women’s player of the year is Algonquin first-year prop Danika McDermott (Ottawa) while Khadeisha Thompson of Sheridan is the OCAA West and overall rookie of the year; Jennifer Boyd of Algonquin is the East and overall coach of the year; McDermott’s teammate, centre Maya Williams (Hamilton) is the East rookie of the year after winning the division scoring championship scoring 14 tries in six games; Humber’s Brett McCully is the West coach of the year; Humber’s fifth-year player Lindsey Bradbury (Utopia) earned the East and overall scoring title.

The women’s all-stars are:

Courtney Mastine and Danika McDermott, Algonquin; Diane Bushell and Candace Scholten, Conestoga; Amy Groves and Simone Roesink, Fleming; Kelsey Bardy and Bradbury, Humber; Lyndsie Baxter and Elizabeth Chisholm, Loyalist; Draper and Hernandez, Mohawk; Stephanie Doornekamp and Mariah Patrick, St. Lawrence-Kingston; Carleigh Andonovski and Carey, Seneca; Llew-Williams and Paterson, Sheridan.