Golden Horseshoe looking for athlete of the year

Once again it’s time to determine the Golden Horseshoe Athlete of the Year.

The committee organizing the annual award is looking for the public’s help in finding the 2012 winner of the Bill Sturrup Trophy. If you’d like to nominate someone please go to

Athletes being nominated must meet the following criteria: Candidates must be a resident of the City of Hamilton or Burlington; candidates may be a professional or amateur athlete; candidates must have demonstrated superior athletic performances at the provincial, national or international level; the athlete’s performance could be as an individual or as part of a team; and the award will be one award and may be won by a male or a female.

There is no age restriction.

Past winners include: Joanne Malar, swimming (1995, 1999, 2000), Clara Hughes, cycling (1996), Graham Hood, running (1997), Titus Channer, basketball (1998), Mark Oldershaw, canoeing (2001), Susan Palmer-Komar, road cycling (2002), Joe Stankevicius, rowing (2003), Jesse Lumsden, football (2004), Danny Syvret, hockey (2005), Shona Thorburn, basketball (2006), Alena Sharp, golf (2007), Chelsey Gotell, swimming (2008), Ryan Ellis, hockey (2009, 2010), Kyle Quinlan, football (2011).

The deadline for nominations is Dec. 31.