Chedoke Novice Express roars through tourney

The Novice Select team was victorious again this season at the Brantford Tournament of Friends this past weekend (Jan. 25-27) with a very close championship win over the Burlington Bulldogs.

This tournament was a complete Express team effort with every player registering a point in the tournament. Chedoke went undefeated, ending with a 5-0 record and outscoring their opponents 36-6.

Photo: Rita Pugliese/Chedoke Minor Hockey

The Hamilton team opened with an 8-1 decision over the Brantford Saints. Quinn Levinson and Antonino Pugliese each had three goals with Matthew Cowan and Matteo Reda adding singles.

The Guelph Jr. Storm was dispatched, 7-1, with Val Johnston scoring three times while singles came from Pugliese, Levinson, Sandro Cali, and Cowan.

In Chedoke’s third outing, the St. Catharines CYO Storm were calmed 12-0 with Johnston and Pugliese scoring three times each. Cowan chipped in two more goals whiles singles were provided by Nathan Channer, Massimo Greco, Levinson, and Sandro Cali.

In the semi-final affair, the Brantford 99ers were eliminated, 6-3, with Pugliese scoring three times, Levinson adding two, and Greco completing the scoring.

The Burlington Bulldogs made a fight of it for the crown, but Chedoke prevailed, 3-1. Johnston opened the scoring for Chedoke and Pugliese added the final two.

Not only did the Express have to content with its opponents at the tourney, but between the semi-final and the final, the team had to return to Hamilton to play with their respective house league teams that began playoffs on the weekend. When those games were over, the players returned to play in the championship.

The Chedoke Novice Express team members are Massimo Greco, Thomas Saker, Matteo Reda, Evan Deligeogis, Rueben Lachance, James Monaghan, Preston Chithalen, Nicolas Palka, Mason Bowen, Nathan Channer, Sandro Cali, Hudon Timofejew, Dylan Houlachan, Quinn Levinson, Val Johnston, Antonino Pugliese, William Sidorkewicz, Matthew Cowan. Coaches Kiki Deligeorgis, Rob Johnston, and Todd Bowen.