OCAA hall of fame brings in two Mountaineers

OCAA LogovectoreTwo former Mohawk Mountaineers will be inducted into the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association’s Hall of Fame.

Anne Devorski (Wilson) and DeWitt Hanna and 47 other OCAA athletes, coaches, or builders will be honoured at the sixth Hall of Fame ceremony on May 1 at the Delta London Armouries in London.

Anne Devorski (Wilson) achieved unparalleled success in not one, but two demanding sports. In 1980 she led Mohawk’s women’s volleyball team to the OCAA championship, was the team’s and tournament’s Most Valuable Player, and Women’s Volleyball MVP. The following year she led the women’s basketball team to the OCAA Gold Medal, was conference basketball tournament MVP, and Mohawk College MVP in both volleyball and basketball. She won Mohawk’s Outstanding Female Athlete Award the same year.

A nursing graduate, Devorski received a volleyball scholarship to Santa Clara University after graduating from Mohawk in 1981. She was inducted into the Mohawk Mountaineers Hall of Fame in 1992.

DeWitt Hanna (Photo: Mohawk Athletics)

DeWitt Hanna (Photo: Mohawk Athletics)

As a walk-on to the men’s basketball team and Mohawk’s first non-Canadian athlete to play for the Mountaineers, DeWitt Hanna left his mark on the basketball program. He was a member of the men’s team which captured OCAA Gold in the 1970-71 season. Hanna was named an OCAA league all-star and tournament all-star for his efforts.

The 1971-72 season brought another OCAA championship to Mohawk, with Hanna being named a league and tournament all-star, the men’s basketball team’s MVP and Mohawk’s Athlete of the Year. Hanna played an integral part in an historical moment in sport, when the Mountaineers basketball team became the first college team to defeat a Canadian university team.

He was inducted into the Mohawk Mountaineers Hall of Fame in 2001.

The OCAA Hall of Fame is dedicated to the recognition of extraordinary contributions and accomplishments within collegiate sports in Ontario. Honoured members include athletes, coaches and builders of the association. The hall was established in 2003. Including this year’s induction, membership will expand to 345 individuals.

The class of 2013 includes the following athletes from Sheridan College in Oakville; Luciano DeLuca, athlete, men’s soccer; Leroy Casanova, athlete, men’s basketball; and Brian Radcliffe, coach, men’s soccer.

From Redeemer, Jakob Van Dorp, athlete, cross country running, will enter the hall.