Burlington racquetball players make national team

Racquetball5Three Burlington racquetball players have been named to Canada’s Junior National Team.

On the Boys’ Under 18 team is Sami Harb; on the Girls’ U18 team is Caillie Hunter; and on the Girls’ U14 team is Annie Fisher.

Qualification for the team is based on player performances at the 2013 Junior National Championships held last week in Burlington. The Junior National Team will compete at the 2013 World Junior Racquetball Championships in Sucre, Bolivia in October.

Other team players who qualified are:

Boy’s U18 – Anthony Schonberger (New Westminster, B.C.)
Boy’s U16 – Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, Alta.) and Nicolas Bousquet (Montreal)
Boy’s U14 – Trevor Webb (Cambridge, Ont.) and Nadav Dinur (Vancouver, B.C.)

Girl’s U18 – McKenzie Brayley (Calgary, Alta.)
Girl’s U16 – Michele Morissette (Baie Comeau, Que.) and Danielle Drury (Saskatoon)
Girl’s U14 – Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, Alta.)

Coby Iwaasa will be looking to defend the Boy’s U16 World Junior title he won last year in California at this year’s World Juniors in Bolivia. Morissette earned bronze in 2012 and will try to do better than that at the 2013 World Juniors.

Making the team for the first time are Bousquet and Dinur on the boy’s side, and Hunter and Fisher on the girl’s side.

Also at the 2013 Canadian Junior National Championships in Burlington, Ont., Racquetball Canada named two players as the sportspeople of the tournament. The awards are named after past great Canadian champions.

Connor Culhane of Coquitlam, B.C. is the 2013 Sherman Greenfeld Award winner, and Milana Paddock of Brandon, Man. is the 2013 Heather Stupp Award winner.

Racquetball Canada is pleased to announce that the 2014 Canadian Junior National Racquetball Championships will be in Grande Prairie, Alberta.