Hurricanes add to depth for 2013 season

hurricanes_logoThe Hamilton Hurricanes Football Club, in preparation for a new Ontario Football Conference season, have signed five players to their roster for the 2013 campaign.

Four are university transfer students and are all required to sit out a year of collegiate play under Canadian Inter-University Sport rules. The remaining player is returning to the ’Canes after playing for the New Mexico Military Academy squad in 2012.

The players are:

Wide receiver Lucas Spagnuolo: (6.00, 180lbs) from Grimsby, where he attended Grimsby Secondary School. Spagnuolo played for the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds as a quarterback last season but all of his stats were accumulated by his legs: He had 24 carries that produced 210 yards and two touchdowns. The former member of the OFC Burlington Braves, is transferring to the University of Guelph along with teammate Ben Osmow.

Defensive tackle Daniel Horta (6.01, 280lbs) from Mississauga, where he attended St. Marcellinus Secondary School and played alongside Osmow. Horta is transferring from Concordia University where he played in eight games in 2012 (3.5 solo tackles and 1 assisted tackle) to the University of Guelph.

Defensive end Ben Osmow (6.03, 240lbs) from Mississauga attended St. Marcellinus. He joins his Thunderbirds’ teammate Spagnuolo at the University of Guelph. Osmow had 8 solo tackles and 2 assisted tackles in 6 games in 2012.

Defensive back Marcus St. Aubin (6.00, 190lbs) from Hamilton attended St. Thomas More Catholic Secondary School. He is transferring from the University of Windsor to McMaster University.

Wide receiver Matt Coates (6.03, 215lbs) from Markham played for the Hurricanes in 2011 and helped lead the team to its second consecutive Ontario Football Championship. In 2012, Coates attended the New Mexico Military Academy where he played wide receiver and registered 308 yards and 2 touchdowns in 10 games played.

The Hurricanes are a member of the OFC in the Canadian Junior Football League and are 2010 and 2011 OFC champions. For more information, visit