Irish will test improving Canucks in rugby

CANvIRE_Poster_Final_130314-e1363375403562After nearly a week of preparation in Oakville, Canada head coach Kieran Crowley has named his starting roster for Saturday’s (June 15) International Test Match against Ireland at BMO Field in Toronto. The lineup includes former McMaster Marauder Tyler Ardron and Ray Barkwill of the Niagara Wasps.

Up one spot this week in the IRB World rankings after defeating Tonga last week, the 13th placed Canadians will look to challenge Ireland, who sit eighth.

Currently competing in the 2013 Pacific Nations Cup, Canada remains undefeated in the tournament following hard earned victories over the USA, Fiji and Tonga.

After a 16-9 win against the USA under harsh weather conditions in Edmonton, Canada went on to down Fiji, 20-18, in Ottawa and Tonga, 36-27, in Kingston to wrap up the Ontario leg of their PNC campaign. Next week will see Canada squaring off against 0-2 Japan in Nagoya.

Kick off for Canada vs. Ireland is 8 p.m. at BMO Field. The game will be broadcast LIVE on TSN.

Rugby Canada anticipates a record crowd.

The Canadian roster includes:

#1 – Hubert Buydens, (Saskatoon Wild Oats/Prairie Wolf Pack), Saskatoon
#2 – Ray Barkwill, (Niagara Wasps RFC/Ontario Blues) Niagara Falls
#3 – Jason Marshall, (Atlantique Stade Rochelais/BC Bears) Vancouver
#4 – Jebb Sinclair, (London Irish) Fredericton, NB
#5 – Tyler Hotson, (London Scottish RFC) Vancouver
#6 – Tyler Ardron, (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Lakefield, ON
#7 – John Moonlight, (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Pickering, ON
#8 – Aaron Carpenter, Captain, (Cornish Pirates) Brantford
#9 – Phil Mack, (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
#10 – Nathan Hirayama, (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears), Richmond, BC
#11 – Taylor Paris, (SU Agen Lot-et-Garonne) Barrie, ON
#12 – Harry Jones, (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver
#13 – Ciaran Hearn, (Castaway Wanderers/Atlantic Rock) Conception Bay, NL
#14 – Matt Evans, (Cornish Pirates) Maple Bay, BC
#15 – James Pritchard, (Bedford Blues) Parkes, Australia
#16 – Ryan Hamilton, (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver
#17 – Andrew Tiedemann, (Castaway Wanderers/Prairie Wolf Pack) St. Albert, AB
#18 – Doug Wooldridge, (Lindsay RFC/Ontario Blues) Lindsay, ON
#19 – Jon Phelan, (Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue/Atlantic Rock) Montreal
#20 – Nanyak Dala, (Castaway Wanderers RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) Saskatoon, SK
#21 – Sean White, (James Bay AA/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
#22 – Nick Blevins, (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary
#23 – Connor Braid, (Doncaster Knights RFC/BC Bears) Victoria